Suryakumar Yadav in Tata IPL 2022. Mumbai Indians (MI)
Image: IPL

MI’s Suryakumar Yadav ruled out of the Tata IPL 2022 due to a muscle injury: Mumbai Indians’ middle-order batter, Suryakumar Yadav has been ruled out of the remainder of the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 due to a muscle injury in his left forearm. The doctors have advised the cricketer to rest and recover from his injury.

The five-time IPL champions, Mumbai Indians confirmed the development, as Rohit Sharma and Co lock horns against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the DY Patil Stadium.

“Suryakumar Yadav has sustained a muscle strain on the left forearm, and has been ruled out for the season. He has been advised rest, in consultation with the BCCI medical team,” said MI in a statement release.

MI hasn’t announced any replacement for the cricketer yet. If the reports are to be believed, Yadav is unlikely to get a replacement as the season is about to end.

This is the second injury to Suryakumar Yadav in recent months. The 31-years old had sustained a wrist injury during India’s home series against West Indies earlier. Yadav had to miss a few initial matches for Mumbai Indians due to his struggling wrist.

Despite featuring in just eight matches in the Tata IPL 2022, Suryakumar Yadav notched up 303 runs at a fantastic average of 43.28. Yadav is Mumbai’s one of the few bright performers in the ongoing IPL 2022 in their otherwise disappointing season.

MI is hanging at the bottom of the points table and has exhausted its qualifying chances due to consecutive losses initially. The franchise has only managed to win two matches from ten, prior to today’s outing against KKR.

Rohit Sharma has won the flip of the coin against Shreyas Iyer and has invited the opposition to set a total first.

ALSO READ: TATA IPL 2023: Suggestions for Each IPL Team.  

MI and KKR squad for today’s match:

Mumbai: Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Tilak Varma, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Ramandeep Singh, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Kumar Kartikeya, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith

Kolkata: Ajinkya Rahane, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Jackson (wk), Pat Cummins, Tim Southee, Varun Chakaravarthy.

ALSO READ: Prithvi Shaw admitted to a hospital due to high fever, Covid reports negative