CSK vs LSG | Image: Twitter, CSK
CSK vs LSG | Image: Twitter, CSK

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) squared off in the sixth IPL 2023 encounter today at MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. KL Rahul was the skipper of the Lucknow Super Giants, while Mahendra Singh Dhoni led the Chennai Super Kings. In a thrilling game, Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s side prevailed by 12 runs.

Kl Rahul won the toss and invited Chennai Super Kings to bat. In response, Chennai Super Kings scored 217 runs for the loss of 7 wickets in the allotted 20 overs. CSK’s opening partnership was good in this match. Chennai lost their first wicket for 110 runs, for the team, Rituraj Gaikwad scored 57 runs in 31 balls with the help of 4 sixes and three fours.

The Lucknow Super Giants made a strong start in their pursuit of the 218-run goal. In the first six overs, he had amassed 80 runs. Kyle Mayers scored 53 runs in 22 balls. He hits two sixes and eight fours. Kyle and skipper KL Rahul added 79 runs to the first-wicket partnership.

Nicholas Pooran played an inning of 32 runs off 18 balls including two fours and three sixes. As long as Pooran was at the crease, it seemed that he would win the match for Lucknow. Lucknow’s hopes were almost over after he was dismissed on the last ball of the 16th over. Ayush Badoni scored 23 off 18 balls, Krishnappa Gautam scored 17 not out off 11 balls and Mark Wood scored 10 not out off three balls. Moeen Ali took four wickets for CSK.

Match Details

  • Match: CSK vs LSG, 6th Match, Indian Premier League 2023
  • Date: Monday, April 03, 2023
  • Toss: Lucknow Super Giants won the toss and opt to bowl
  • Time: 7:30 PM
  • Venue: MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
  • Result: CSK won by 12 runs

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Scorecard

Ruturaj Gaikwad c Wood b Ravi Bishnoi573134183.87
Devon Conway c Pandya b Wood472952162.06
Shivam Dube c Wood b Ravi Bishnoi271613168.75
Moeen Ali st †Pooran b Ravi Bishnoi191330146.15
Ben Stokes c Yash Thakur b Avesh Khan8810100.00
Ambati Rayudu not out271422192.85
Ravindra Jadeja c Ravi Bishnoi b Wood360050.00
MS Dhoni (c)c Ravi Bishnoi b Wood12302400.00
Mitchell Santner not out1100100.00

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) Scorecard

KL Rahul (c)c Gaikwad b Ali201820111.11
Kyle Mayers c Conway b Ali532282240.90
Deepak Hooda c Stokes b Santner260033.33
Krunal Pandya c Jadeja b Ali9901100.00
Marcus Stoinis b Ali211801116.66
Nicholas Pooran c Stokes b Deshpande321823177.77
Ayush Badoni c †Dhoni b Deshpande231800127.77
Krishnappa Gowtham not out171101154.54
Mark Wood not out10311333.33

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) Playing

Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali, Ben Stokes, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Shivam Dube, Mitchell Santner, Deepak Chahar, RS Hangargekar

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG): KL Rahul (c), Kyle Mayers, Deepak Hooda, Krunal Pandya, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Krishnappa Gowtham, Mark Wood, Ravi Bishnoi, Yash Thakur, Avesh Khan

Don’t Miss: CSK vs LSG, Live Score: MS Dhoni hit two long sixes