Former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra picked his opening pair for the T20 World Cup 2024. He believes that Ruturaj Gaikwad and Shubman Gill won’t be opening because they both play with the same style and the team wants someone aggressive. 

Aakash Chopra backed Indian captain Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal to open the innings for India in the T20 World Cup 2024. He also feels that the senior opener will be captaining the team as he along with Rahul Dravid did a great job in the ICC World Cup 2023.

There have been a lot of speculations about the future of Rohit Sharma in T20Is. The Indian captain hasn’t played a single game in this format since the T20 World Cup 2023. This was because BCCI wanted to give opportunities to youngsters and they played under the leadership of Hardik Pandya. 

Read Also: Rohit Sharma to captain India in T20 World Cup 2024; Asks BCCI to make a straightforward call on the captaincy – Reports

Recently there were a lot of reports which suggested that BCCI wants Rohit Sharma to captain the team in the T20 World Cup 2024 as they were quite impressed with his job in World Cup 2023. The selectors wanted him to take charge of the team from South Africa T20Is but he asked for rest. 

On the other hand, Yashasvi Jaiswal has been one of the most exciting talents in the world of cricket. The opening batter has given rollicking starts to the team in almost every game that he has played. He along with Rohit Sharma will be a force to reckon with at the top for the T20 World Cup 2024.

T20 World Cup 2024: Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma to be seen next on South Africa tour 

World Cup 2024: Rohit Sharma talks about his retirement plans, explains India's plans for T20 World Cup 2024
Image: ICC WTC Final 2023

The South African tour for the India team will begin with a three-match T20I series. The games will be played from 10th December to 14th December. Following that IND vs SA ODI series will be played from 17th December to 21st December. 

It’ll be time for the Test series after that. The first match will be played on 26th December whereas the second match will be played on 3rd January. 

Yashasvi Jaiswal has been named in the Indian squad for the T20I and Test series against South Africa. Rohit Sharma has been rested from the white-ball leg and will be captaining the team in the Tests. The duo is expected to open the innings in the two-Test series. They were highly successful as a pair during the West Indies series.