Img subjected to copyright.

Pat Cummins has equaled the record for the fastest 50 in the IPL! He sealed the game for KKR with a 14-ball 50! The TATA IPL 2022 saw the Mumbai Indians take on the Kolkata Knight Riders on Wednesday evening. The Knight Riders had previously won 2 of the 3 games they played. Mumbai on the other hand was looking for the first victory of the tournament. The Mumbai Indians are slow starters as known by everyone but a loss in all the first 3 games would have hurt them. Pat Cummins won the game for Kolkata Knight Riders by scoring a fifty in 14 balls only. IPL 2022 has seen several young players emerge and this game also had a few. Here is an in-depth look at the game: 

IPL 2022, MI VS KKR, Mumbai Indians Playing 11: 

Ishan Kishan (wk), Rohit Sharma (c), Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Dewald Brevis, Murugan Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Tymal Mills, Basil Thampi

IPL 2022, MI VS KKR, Kolkata Knight Riders’ Playing 11: 

Ajinkya Rahane, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer (c), Sam Billings (wk), Nitish RanaAndre RussellSunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Umesh YadavRasikh SalamVarun Chakravarthy

IPL 2022, MI VS KKR, Mumbai Indians’ Batting Innings: 

The toss was won by Shreyas Iyer and Iyer chose to bowl. Rohit was satisfied as he had planned to bat first. Both captains got what their team wanted.  

The Mumbai Indians’ batting innings didn’t have the best of starts. Rohit Sharma who generally loves batting against KKR was out for 3 of 12 balls. Umesh Yadav bowled very very well for the Knight Riders. It is a pity that this workhorse was picked for only 1 Crore at the Auction table. Umesh got Rohit out on a short-ball. The innings further were handled by Ishan Kishan and Dewald Brevis. They took the team through the first 6 overs of powerplay. The scoreboard at that time was 35-1.  

Dewald Brevis had come in place of Tim David and he was justifying his place. Dewald played aggressive shots whenever he got the opportunity. He was stumped by Sam Billings off Varun Chakravarthy for 29 runs. Ishan Kishan too faltered and fell for 14 runs of 21 balls. His approach was very conservative. The next to come in was Surya! Surya was bought into the team in place of Anmolpreet. SKY batted very well.  

SKY batted along with young sensation Tilak Varma to take the team out of a period of crisis. Tilak Varma showed maturity. He was anchoring the innings while Surya was showing why he adds value to the Mumbai team. The duo complimented each other very well. The partnership was 83 runs. Every loose ball perished for a boundary. SKY showed his 360-degree game. Pollard walked in late to score 22 runs off 5 balls and took Mumbai to a respectable total of 161/4. 

Brief Scores: 

  • Suryakumar Yadav: 52 off 36 balls. 
  • N Tilak Varma: 38 runs of 27 balls. 
  • Pat Cummins: 2/49 

IPL 2022, MI VS KKR, Kolkata Knight Riders’ Batting Innings (Run-Chase): 

The Kolkata Knight Riders’ innings also began with a wicket. Their experienced batter, Ajinkya Rahane was out to a short-ball as he handed out a catch in the deep. Venky Iyer however was like a solid rock. The next to walk in was Shreyas Iyer, but he too didn’t trouble the scorers much as he was out on the last ball of the powerplay. The scoreboard read 35-2.  

Mumbai Indians then turned on a more aggressive gear. They were taking wickets at constant intervals. The only person to stand was Venky Iyer. Nitish Rana was also out for 8 runs. Andre walked in next. Dre Russ hit one maximum and was out to a short-ball from Tymal Mills. KKR were at 69-4. Venky took the charge and got the team in a formidable position. Every loose ball was punished by him and Pat Cummins decided to support Venky. Iyer got to his fifty. And the equation was 32 runs of the last 5 overs.  

Daniel Sams came into the attack in the 16th over. Pat Cummins was in beast mode by then. He took Sams to the cleaners. The over went like 6,4,6,6, N2, 4,6. A total of 35 runs were smashed in the over of Daniel Sams. Pat Cummins’s score matched the record for the fastest ever 50 in the IPL. The record was held by KL Rahul.  

Brief Scores: 

  • KKR win by 5 wickets and 4 overs to spare. 
  • Pat Cummins: 56 runs of 15 balls. 
  • Venkatesh Iyer: 50 of 41 balls. 
  • Murugan Ashwin: 2/25. 

To know more go to the official website of KKR.

To know more go to the official website of MI.