Vivo IPL 2021 DC vs KKR: Delhi Capitals (DC) beats Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by seven wickets

Rahul Dravid never forced me to change my style of game: Prithvi Shaw

Vivo IPL 2021 DC vs KKR: Delhi Capitals (DC) beats Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by seven wickets.

Vivo IPL 2021: Opener Prithvi Shaw’s exceptional innings at the top brought Delhi Capitals (DC) back to the winning ways as they beat Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) by seven wickets in the 25th game of the Vivo IPL 2021 at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad.

Continuing his red-hot form in the Vivo IPL 2021, Prithvi Shaw scored quickfire 41-balls 81 at the top to power Delhi Capitals to a win with 3.3 overs and seven wickets to spare.

Chasing a modest total of 154 at Narendra Modi Stadium, Shaw dominated the KKR bowlers right from the ball one as he smacked six consecutive boundaries in the first over of Shivam Mavi. With a breath-taking start, DC scored 67 runs in the powerplay without losing wickets.

Shikhar Dhawan complementing Shaw’s brilliant shot-play took the second fiddle role and gave himself time to settle down.

However, Pat Cummins provided the much needed first breakthrough to KKR with the wicket of Southpaw Shikhar Dhawan (46 off 47)in the 14th over. DC scored 132 runs before the dismissal of Dhawan.

  IPL 2022: 5 Interesting Rule changes in the IPL 2022, suggested by Aakash Chopra

The Aussie pacer Pat Cummins once again dismissed Prithvi Shaw who was closing on the victory in his subsequent over. Shaw returned after a display of sublime knock where he scored 82 of just 41 with the help of 11 fours and three sixes and a strike rate of 200.

The rest easy work to cross the line was done by Rishabh Pant (16 off 8) and Marcus Stoinis (6* off 3).

Earlier, Delhi Capitals won the toss and forced KKR to bat first.

Openers Nitish Rana and Shubman Gill looked in a good touch however the former was stumped by Rishabh Pant off Axar Patel in the fourth over. Rana scored 15 runs from 12 deliveries.

Rahul Tripathi and Gill after the dismissal of Nitish Rana scored three fours and put KKR at 45-1 in the end of the powerplay.

The DC spinners didn’t let KKR batters to score easy runs and kept building the pressure.

Marcus Stoinis took his man Rahul Tripathi in the 9th over and KKR were reduced to 69-2.

  Vivo IPL 2021 Complete Award List: Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Super Striker, MVP, Fairplay Award etc..

In the 11th over, Lalit Yadav showed his magic as he removed KKR skipper Eoin Morgan and Sunil Narine both for a duck. In no time, KKR slipped down to 75-4 in 10.4 overs.

In the process, Shubman Gill could not get a proper hold of the start he got and was dismissed by Avesh Khan in the 13th over. Gill departed after scoring hard-fought 43 off 38 with the help of three boundaries and a six.

All rounder Andre Russell and Pat Cummins fired late and took KKR to 154 runs total in the quota of 20 overs. Russell amassed 45 from 27 balls which included 2 fours and four sixes while Dinesh Karthik and Pat Cummins scored 14 and 11 runs respectively.

Delhi Capitals (DC) opener Prithvi Shaw was given “Man of the Match” award for his astonishing timing and breath-taking innings.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Rajasthan Royals (RR) Donated INR 7.5 Crores To Aid People Fighting With Covid-19
Vivo IPL 2021 MI Vs RR: Mumbai Indians Outplayed Rajasthan Royals, Seals Third Win Of Vivo IPL 2021