India vs England: ICC rates Narendra Modi Stadium pitch ‘Average’ for a Test game

India vs England T20Is: BCCI allows 50 per cent crowd in the five T20Is against England.

India vs England T20Is: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Gujrat Cricket Association (GCA) have decided to allow spectators for the five games T20I series against England. According to GCA, 50 per-cent crowd will be present in revamped Narendra Modi Stadium for the five T20Is.

India and England are scheduled to play a five-game T20I series at Narendra Modi Stadium, starting Friday.

“We are going to use only 50% seating capacity at the Narendra Modi Stadium for all the T20 International matches to be played here due to COVID-19 pandemic,” Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA) vice-president Dhanraj Nathwani said in a media release.

Earlier, in the test series, GCA allowed fans to cheer for their favourite players in Narendra Modi Stadium. However, due to a recent surge in the covid-19 cases, it was expected that the games will be held behind the closed gates. Only the first game in Chennai was held without fans due to limited time for all the required protocols.

The newly revamped Narendra Modi Stadium have a seating capacity of 132,000 fans at a time.

GCA vice president also said that all the necessary covid-19 protocols are being followed by the responsible staff to ensure the safety of all the fans and cricketers.

“The entire stadium has been sanitized considering the safety of the spectators. All COVID-19 guidelines are being strictly adhered to and special task force committees have been set up to ensure that all required safety measures are implemented and followed,” he added.

India and England T20I Squad:

India: Virat Kohli (C), Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Tewatia, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Washington SundarShreyas Iyer, Rohit Sharma (VC), Navdeep Saini, Suryakumar YadavRishabh Pant (WK), Shardul Thakur, Shikhar Dhawan, T Natarajan, Varun Chakravarty, & Yuzvendra Chahal.

England: Eoin Morgan (capt), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jofra Archer, Sam Curran,  Liam Livingstone, Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: SRH skipper David Warner expressed his wish to reach IPL 2021 Final
India vs England 1st T20I: Rohit Sharma to open with KL Rahul, says Virat Kohli