ICC name Commentary Panel for T20 World Cup 2024; Dinesh Karthik, Ravi Shastri, and Harsha Bhogle among Indians
Image Source: Twitter

The fewer for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 is on. The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday (5th January) announced the schedule for the tournament, which will be played in the United States of America (USA) and the Caribbean. 

The much anticipated ICC T20 World Cup 2024 will begin from 1st June with a clash between hosts USA and Canada. The semi-finals will be on the 26th and 27th of June at in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The final of the tournament is all set to be played in Barbados on 29 June. 

The T20 World Cup 2024 will see as many as 55 matches being played. Out of this, the Caribbean will host 42 matches whereas the USA will be hosting 16 games. It will be for the first time in the history of the event that 20 teams will be taking part in the tournament. 

Also Read: ICC poster for T20 World Cup 2024 sparks rumours about Rohit captaining India in the tournament

The T20 World Cup 2024 will see 5 teams divided into 4 groups each. The top two teams from each team will reach the Super 8 stage. In that stage, the top two teams will play the semi-final against each other and the two winners will then advance to the final. 

Group A of the tournament has the likes of  India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and the USA whereasGroup B has England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman. New Zealand, West Indies, AfghanistanUganda and Papua New Guinea are placed in Group C. South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal are slotted in Group D. 

Each group has quite a few associate teams as well. It’s fair to say that top teams are likely to advance to the Super 8 stage of the T20 World Cup 2024. It will be tough for the associate teams to defeat big names. 

If there are no upsets then Super 8 Groups are likely to be like this

Group 1: India, Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka.

Group 2: Pakistan, England, West Indies, South Africa.

T20 World Cup 2024 schedule 

ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Format Revealed, World Cup 2024 to be held in different Format
Image Credit: ICC

Here’s the full schedule of the T20 World Cup 2024

June 1USA vs CanadaDallas
June 2West Indies vs Papua New GuineaGuyana
June 2Namibia vs OmanBarbados
June 3Sri Lanka vs South AfricaNew York
June 4Afghanistan vs UgandaGuyana
June 4England vs ScotlandBarbados
June 5India vs IrelandNew York
June 5Papua New Guinea vs UgandaGuyana
June 5Australia vs OmanBarbados
June 6USA vs PakistanDallas
June 6Namibia vs ScotlandBarbados
June 7Canada vs IrelandNew York
June 7New Zealand vs AfghanistanGuyana
June 7Sri Lanka vs BangladeshDallas
June 8Netherlands vs South AfricaNew York
June 8Australia vs EnglandBarbados
June 8West Indies vs UgandaGuyana
June 9India vs PakistanNew York
June 9Oman vs ScotlandAntigua & Barbuda
June 10South Africa vs BangladeshNew York
June 11Pakistan vs CanadaNew York
June 11Sri Lanka vs NepalLauderhill
June 11Australia vs NamibiaAntigua & Barbuda
June 12USA vs IndiaNew York
June 12West Indies vs New ZealandTrinidad and Tobago
June 13England vs OmanAntigua & Barbuda
June 13Bangladesh vs NetherlandsSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 13Afghanistan vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad and Tobago
June 14USA vs IrelandLauderhill
June 14South Africa vs NepalSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 14New Zealand vs UgandaTrinidad and Tobago
June 15India vs CanadaLauderhill
June 15Namibia vs EnglandAntigua & Barbuda
June 15Australia vs ScotlandSaint Lucia
June 16Pakistan vs IrelandLauderhill
June 16Bangladesh vs NepalSaint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 16Sri Lanka vs NetherlandsSaint Lucia
June 17New Zealand vs Papua New GuineaTrinidad and Tobago
June 17West Indies vs AfghanistanSaint Lucia

Here’s the schedule of the Super 8 stage 

June 19A2 vs D1Antigua & Barbuda
June 19BI vs C2Saint Lucia
June 20C1 vs A1Barbados
June 20B2 vs D2Antigua & Barbuda
June 21B1 vs D1Saint Lucia
June 21A2 vs C2Barbados
June 22A1 vs D2Antigua & Barbuda
June 22C1 vs B2Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
June 23A2 vs B1Barbados
June 23C2 vs D1Antigua & Barbuda
June 24B2 vs A1Saint Lucia
June 24C1 vs D2Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

Here’s the schedule of the knockout stage 

June 26Semifinal 1Guyana
June 27Semifinal 2Trinidad and Tobago
June 29FinalBarbados