ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Sri Lanka name 15-men strong T20I squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Sri Lanka name 15-men strong T20I squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) on Sunday announced its 15-men confirmed T20 squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021 scheduled to be held in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) and Oman later this month.

The mega cricket event was initially scheduled in India, but the dreaded pandemic and underwhelming conditions in India forced the ICC and BCCI to shift the tournament to the UAE and Oman.

The cricket board has appointed Dasun Shanaka and Dhananjaya De Silva as the team’s skipper and vice-captain respectively.

“The following 15 member final squad was selected by the Cricket Selection Committee to take part in the ICC Men’s  #T20WorldCup 2021, which will be played in UAE and Oman from 17th October to 14th November 2021,” wrote Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) in a social media post.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2021: ICC reveals total prize money for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021

The T20I squad include the likes of opener Avishka Fernando, star all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga, spinner Akila Dananjaya and others.

Sri Lanka T20 World Cup 2021 Squad:

Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhananjaya De Silva (vc), Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Chamika Karunaratne, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Maheesh Theekshana, Akila Dananjaya, Binura Fernando.

Sri Lanka will open the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 campaign in the match against Namibia on 18th October. The team will play round one of the T20 World Cup along with Ireland, Netherlands and Namibia, which are placed in Group 1. While Group 2 consists of Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea and Oman.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction: Virender Sehwag says MI should retain Rohit, Ishan and Jasprit Bumrah