Pakistan team

The Pakistan cricket board announced a full-strength Pakistan team for the Asia Cup 2022 which is going to be held in the UAE. The Asia cup last time as well was born in the UAE. The bigger updates from the announced squad are that Babar Azam will lead the men in green and Shadab Khan is back in action. Shaheen Shah Afridi is not available due to his knee injury. Naseem Shah, the 16-year-old boy who made his debut in 2019 will also be playing in place of Hasan Ali. Here is an in-depth look at the squad: 

Pakistan Squad for the Asia Cup 2022: 

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir. 

Read: Shaheen Afridi is Being Ruled Out of The Upcoming Asia Cup 2022. A huge blow for Pakistan

Overview of the Men in Green: 

The announced squad looks like a full-strength squad. The two big names that are missing from the list are those Imad Wasim, who once used to be the deputy captain of the men in green in this format, and Hasan Ali who has been given a break from international cricket. Babar Azam will be keen on retaining the Asia Cup as the team looks solid and does stand a chance as the format is T20.  

Pakistan Cricket Team

The other T20 specialists in this team include Haris Rauf, Haider Ali, Asif Ali, and Shadab Khan. A lot will rely on the finishing skills of Asif Ali. He was the key component of the team in the 2021 T20 World Cup. Haris Rauf is becoming a force to reckon with. He has set the global T20 leagues on fire. He brings along with him a lot of variations.  

Read more: India’s Squad for Asia Cup 2022 Announced by the BCCI

Pakistan Squad for Netherlands Tour: 

Pakistan also announced a subsidiary squad for the tour of the Netherlands. This tour happens to have some sense of relevance as the ODI games in this tour are a part of the Super League. Pakistan will be keen on grabbing 100% points from these series.  

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani, Zahid Mehmood 

This team also has only a few changes and most of the senior players will be keen to fine-tune their skills before the all-important Asia Cup 2022 begins.  

To know more go to India VS Pakistan 2022: 3 Key Battles to Watch Out for in Asia Cup 2022 Match.

Read more at India VS Pakistan: India Women Beat Pakistan by 8 Wickets. Mandhana Stars with the Bat. CWG 2022.

To know more go to the official website of the ICC.