Not Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad appointed CSK's Captain for IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings
Image: IPL

IPL 2024: In a big development prior to the start of the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL), Chennai Super Kings (CSK) have decided to make Ruturaj Gaikwad the captain of the side, replacing the legendary MS Dhoni, who held the reins of the side for 14 years. The update was confirmed on Thursday by the franchise itself.

The leadership change in the CSK comes as a historic move as the franchise makes its succession planning for a foolproof future. Gaikwad, who is 27 years old, joined the Yellow Brigade back in the 2019 IPL auction for INR 20 Lakhs.

Though he couldn’t get a chance to play in the 2019 season of the IPL, he immediately made his mark in the IPL 2020 with his dazzling batting show in the limited opportunities. Gaikwad scored 204 runs in 6 outings in the season at an average of 51.00, which included three half-centuries.

The Maharashtra batter won the Orange Cap in IPL 2021 under MS Dhoni’s leadership, when CSK won its fourth IPL title. Since then he has been a vital cog in the lineup of Chennai Super Kings.

Interestingly, CSK had earlier tested all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja as a potential leader of the franchise during the IPL 2022. However, the all-rounder couldn’t make a bold impression with his approach and eventually stepped down from the role midway through the tournament.

Jadeja led CSK in the first half of the IPL 2022 but transferred the captaincy responsibility to MS Dhoni for the second half.

Not Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad appointed CSK's Captain for IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings
Rituraj Gaikwad | Pic Credit: Twitter,CSK

Now, it is Ruturaj Gaikwad, who has been picked for the leadership position and it remains to be seen if he manages to justify his appointment. It’s noteworthy that stepping in and donning MS Dhoni’s shoes isn’t a cakewalk for anyone.

Rich Legacy of Dhoni in IPL

Dhoni has led CSK since the inception of the IPL back in 2008, barring the two seasons when the franchise was banned due to a spot-fixing scandal.

During those 15 seasons, Dhoni led CSK in 212 IPL matches, out of which 128 games went in their favour and the team lost 82 games. What’s insane is that CSK has managed to enter playoffs in 12 seasons and then gone on to lift the IPL title five times under Dhoni’s captaincy.

CSK held its record-equalling fifth IPL title in 2023 after they defeated Gujarat Titans (GT) in the final at Narendra Modi Stadium. With the fifth title win, CSK equalled Mumbai’s record of having the most IPL titles.

Not Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad appointed CSK's Captain for IPL 2024 | Chennai Super Kings
Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) released a statement confirming the development of Ruturaj Gaikwad’s appointment as the captain of the side ahead of the start of the Tata IPL 2024.

“MS Dhoni has handed over Chennai Super Kings’ captaincy to Ruturaj Gaikwad ahead of the start of TATA IPL 2024. Ruturaj has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2019 and has played 52 matches in IPL during this period. The team looks forward to the upcoming season,” said CSK in a statement released on March 21.

ALSO READ: IPL 2024: Replacement called in for Mohammad Shami and Dilshan Madushanka in GT and MI