IPL 2022 Groups and Format Revealed by the BCCI
Image Source: IPL/Twitter

IPL 2022 Groups and Format Revealed by the BCCI: The Indian Premier League (IPL) Governing Council on 25th February confirmed the format adopted for the upcoming IPL 2022. All the ten teams have been divided into two groups of five teams each.

Group A and Group B have been formed of five teams each. Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Lucknow SuperGiants (LSG), Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Delhi Capitals (DC) are named in Group A. On the other side, Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Gujarat Titans (GT), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have been named in Group B.

IPL 2022 Team Groups:

Group AGroup B
Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow SuperGiantsGujarat Titans

In the press release, the new format for the IPL 2022 was explained, according to which, each team will play 14 matches to complete the league stages. A total fo 74 matches will be scheduled in the entire Tata IPL 2022.

“Each team will play twice with the teams in their group and with the team in the same row in the second group. With the rest of the teams in the second group they will play only once during the season,” BCCI said in the official press release.

“For Example: In Group A, MI will play 2 matches each against KKR, RR, DC, LSG. MI will also play 2 matches against CSK and 1 match each against other teams in Group B. Similarly, in Group B, RCB will play 2 matches against CSK, SRH, PBKS and GT. RCB will also play 2 matches against RR and 1 match each against other teams in Group A.”

IPL format 2022 1
IPL Schedule Matrix – Image: IPL

The officials also informed that all the teams have been assigned two virtual groups based on two criteria. First, the number of IPL titles won followed by the total number of final appearances made by the team.

Virtual Groups
virtual groups – Image: IPL

The entire league stage of the IPL 2022 will be staged in four prominent cricket grounds of Maharashtra namely – Wankhede Stadium, DY Patil Stadium, Brabourne Stadium, and MCA International Stadium in Pune.

IPL 2022 Venue and total games 1
Image: IPL

Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium will host 20 matches each while MCA International Ground and Brabourne Stadium will organise 15 matches.

The Indian T20 extravaganza will be organised in a completely sealed bio-secure environment. to reduce the further possibility of virus transmissions, the BCCI has minimised the travel of all the teams.

Meanwhile, there is no confirmation on the venues of the playoffs. The BCCI is likely to stage all the important matches in Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium.

Earlier, it was confirmed that the IPL 2022 will begin on March 26 (Saturday) while the final will be played on 29th May (Sunday).