IPL Purple Cap
Full list of all the Purple holders year-wise

List Of Purple Cap Winners in IPL year-wise: The Purple Cap is a special award given to the highest wicket-taker in the IPL. The Purple Cap race officially begins when all the franchises have played a match. As the season progresses, the Purple Cap holders change, and after the final, the player with the highest wickets in that season of the league takes home the coveted award.

Many have won the Purple Cap, with only Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo taking the award twice. In fact, Bhuvneshwar is the only player to have won the Purple Cap in two consecutive seasons, when he took 23 and 27 wickets in 2016 and 2017 respectively. Let’s jump right into the list:

Year wise IPL Purple cap winners

2008- Sohail Tanvir (22 wickets)

Sohail Tanvir

Tanvir played a major role in Rajasthan Royals (RR), winning the title in that season. Sohail Tanvir’s performance in the inaugural edition of the league is still regarded as one of the best performances by a bowler in the history of the league. He took 22 wickets in 11 matches.

2009- RP Singh (23 wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
RP Singh

Playing for Deccan Chargers, Indian fast bowler RP Singh won the Purple Cap in the second edition of the league. He was sensational throughout the season, finishing with the Purple Cap with 23 wickets in 16 matches.

2010- Pragyan Ojha (21 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Pragyan Ojha

Another Deccan Chargers’ player, another Indian with spin beauty went on to win the Purple Cap in the third edition of the league as he picked up 21 scalps in 16 matches.

2011- Lasith Malinga (28 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Lasith Malinga

The Mumbai Indians (MI) pacer went on to pick 28 wickets and eventually won the Purple Cap in the fourth edition of the IPL. Lasith Malinga was nearly unplayable that year.

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: IPL to return to the pre-Covid home-away format in 2023; -Ganguly

2012- Morne Morkel (25 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Morne Morkel

the south african pacer, Morne Morkel was superb in IPL 2012. he took 25 wickets in that season and was one of the major reasons why Delhi finished at the top of the table during the group stage.

2013-Dwayne Bravo (32 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
DJ Bravo and Hussy

The Caribbean all-rounder won the Purple Cap in the sixth edition of the league. He took 32 wickets in that season, which is still the most by any bowler in a single season.

2014- Mohit Sharma (23 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Mohit Sharma

Another Indian in the tally, Mohit sharma, playing for CSK in 2014 took as many as 23 wickets. CSK captain MS Dhoni showed a lot of faith in him in that season and Mohit did not disappoint his captain in that season as well.

2015- Dwayne Bravo (26 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
DJ Bravo and Hussy

It’s him again, DJ Bravo became the first bowler in IPL history to win the Purple Cap twice as he took the most wickets in 2015. He took 26 wickets as his team lost to Mumbai Indians in the thriller of the season.

2016- Bhuvneshwar Kumar (23 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Bhuvneshwar kumar

A New find of India, Bhuvneshwar Kumar. He won the Purple Cap for the first time in the ninth edition of the league. He took 23 wickets and led the team with the ball. This was the year when Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won their maiden IPL title.

2017- Bhuvneshwar Kumar (26 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first bowler to win the Purple Cap in two consecutive seasons. He took the most wickets in this season and also took three more wickets than in 2016.

2018- Andrew Tye (24 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Andrew Tye

Andrew Tye was in the form of his life as he went on to win the Purple Cap in that IPL season. The Australian pacer was superb for Punjab and picked wickets at regular intervals. He took 24 wickets.

2019- Imran Tahir (26 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Imran Tahir (IC_Surjeet Yadav/IANS)

Imran Tahir, one of the greatest T20 spinners of all time. He was outstanding in 2019 and was a key player for CSK. He won the Purple Cap in that season and took 26 wickets for CSK.

2020- Kagiso Rabada (30 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
KG Rabada

South African pacer, Kagiso Rabada picked 30 wickets and won the Purple Cap in 2020. KG Rabada with his serious pace was unplayable that season of IPL.

2021- Harshal Patel (32 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Harshal Patel with Shahbaz

Harshal Patel, “the purple patel”, he is known with this name now-a-days. He finished IPL 2021 with 32 wickets in 15 matches at a strike rate of 10.56. The right-arm pacer equaled Dwayne Bravo’s 2013 record for most wickets in an IPL season.

2022- Yuzvendra Chahal (27 Wickets)

IPL Purple Cap
Yuzvendra Chahal

Chahal took 27 wickets at a strike rate of 15.1 with an average of 19.51 in the season where his team RR finished as runners-up. He has been the highest wicket-taker in the last 8 IPL seasons. Chahal has taken 154 wickets from 2015 to 2022

The advantage of being a Purple Cap holder is that more people know about the talent of the bowler, especially when the player is uncapped. Purple Cap holders also get to wear a special cap while fielding for their franchise. Last year, the Purple Cap winner also received a prize money of Rs 10 lakh.

ALSO READ: Complete List of Squads of All Teams in T20 World Cup 2022, How to Watch ICC World Cup in India

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for Every Cricket news and Updates