Rohit Sharma says no plans of giving up the T20 format
Image: BCCI

IND vs BAN: The Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka hosted the first game of the three-match ODI series between Bangladesh and India. This thrilling game was won by Bangladesh by one wicket. Team India has experienced yet another setback following the loss. The Indian cricket team was fined 80% of the match fee by the ICC on Monday for the first ODI’s slow over rate.

According to a statement from the ICC, Team India bowled four overs less than the allotted time in the first ODI. This was determined by match referee Ranjan Madugalle. Team India was penalized as a result. According to Rule 2.22 of the Code of Conduct, players who exceed the allotted time for their team are fined 20% of the match fee.

The ICC reported that captain Rohit Sharma had admitted to making the error and accepted the proposed penalty. A formal hearing was therefore not required. On-field umpires Michael Gough and Tanveer Ahmed, third umpire Sharfudola Ibne Shahid, and fourth umpire Ghazi Sohail all decided to make the charges.

Also Read: Team India likely to get a new head coach for T20I setup: Reports

Match Highlights

While batting first Indian team only managed to make 186 in 41.2 overs. Washington Sundar scored 19 runs, Shreyas Iyer 24 runs, and Rohit Sharma 27 runs. In addition, Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli each scored seven and nine runs, respectively. Deepak Chahar and Shahbaz Ahmed were unable to even access their accounts.

Ibadat Hossain and Shakib Al Hasan each took four wickets for Bangladesh. While chasing the small target of 186 runs, the Bangladeshi team reached the target despite losing nine wickets in 46 overs. Liton Das, the captain, scored 41 runs. Mehdi scored 38 runs.

Also Read: BAN vs IND Dream11 Prediction 2nd ODI, Fantasy Team, Playing11, Pitch Report, Where to Watch India tour of Bangladesh 2022