WATCH: Pakistan reveal their jersey for the T20 World Cup 2024
Pakistan New Jersey | Pic: X (Pakistan Cricket)

Pakistan’s Men’s National Cricket Team have unveiled their official jersey for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup on Monday in an unveiling ceremony organized by the PCB.

The Men in Green’s white ball skipper Babar Azam along with senior players Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi posed with the new Jersey for the T20 World Cup and Pakistan’s jersey has been named as “Matrix Jersey”.

The Pakistan Cricket Board posted a x video on their X handle, where Babar Azam, Naseem Shah and Saim Ayub were seen doing training drills and in the end, all of the above mentioned players were wearing the new Jersey which the Shaheens will be donning in this year’s mega event.

The Babar Azam led team are placed in Group A for the upcoming T20 World Cup alongside arch rivals India, co – hosts USA and Canada.

Before the T20 World Cup, the Men in Green are set to play a total of seven T20 International games against Ireland and England and both of these series will act as a preparatory ground for the Shaheens. They will depart for Ireland tomorrow ahead of their three match T20 International series. 

The 2022 T20 World Cup runners up announced an 18 member squad for the England and Ireland T20i series but the squad will be reduced to a 15 player squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup after the end of the first T20i against England.

The initial deadline for the submission of the squads for each participating nation in this year’s mega event was 1st May but the teams have the freedom of making Changes to their squads till 25th May. Post that, the participating teams will have to take the permission of the ICC if they want to make any change.

It’s worth noting that a total of 20 teams will be divided into four groups of five teams each and the top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super 8. In the Super 8, all the qualified teams will get divided in two groups of four teams each and the top two teams from the Super 8 groups will qualify for the semi finals and the winners of the semi’s will then face each other in the all important final on 29th June.

All the groups for the 2024 T20 World Cup:

Group A – Pakistan, India, Canada and USA (Co – Hosts).

Group B – Australia, England, Scotland, Namibia and Oman.

Group C – West Indies (Co – Hosts), Afghanistan, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Uganda.

Group D – Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Bangladesh, Nepal and South Africa.

Pakistan’s schedule for the 2024 T20 World Cup

6th June – USA vs Pakistan, Dallas

9th June – India vs Pakistan, New York

11th June – Canada vs Pakistan, New York

16th June – Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

READ: CSK’s MS Dhoni is playing IPL 2024 with a leg muscle tear


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here