Saturday, July 20, 2024

AFG vs PAK, 2nd ODI: In a thrilling match, Pakistan won the series by defeating Afghanistan by one wicket


AFG vs PAK, 2nd ODI: The second match of the ongoing three-match ODI series between Afghanistan and Pakistan was played at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium in Sri Lanka at the same venue today. The first match of both was also played on this ground where Pakistan stunned everyone by all-out Afghanistan for just 59 runs. Returning to Afghanistan, they showed a good performance in this match, but unfortunately, In a thrilling match, Pakistan won the series by defeating Afghanistan by one wicket. Down below is the full match Highlights.

Afghanistan captain Hashmatullah Shahidi won the toss and decided to bat, the result of which proved to be right for the team. Afghanistan scored 300 runs for five wickets in 50 overs. The 21-year-old Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored a brilliant 151 off 151 balls with the help of three sixes and fourteen fours, while his fellow opener Ibrahim Zadran also scored an inning of 80 runs. There was a partnership of 227 runs for the first wicket between both the openers, which is a record in itself for Afghanistan.

Pakistan also got off to a strong start in their pursuit of the 301-run total. As soon as Pakistan’s Powerplay overs began, Fakhar Zaman’s 34-ball 30 dealt them their first blow. Imam-ul-Haq and captain Babar Azam shared a 108-run partnership for the second wicket after his dismissal. Babar Azam, the captain, scored a half-century in 66 balls while Imam-ul-Haq scored 91 runs in 105 balls. After these two were dismissed, Pakistan’s middle order crumbled, and the Afghanistan team was gradually mounting a comeback in the game. Shadab Khan, however, went on to play a 48 run innings in 35 balls with the help of three fours and a six, which helped Pakistan remain in the match.

Last Over Thriller

In the last over of the game, Pakistan needed 11 runs in six balls to win the match. Fazalhaq Farooqi was doing the last over from Afghanistan. Presenting a good bowling performance in this match, he took maximum three wickets but unfortunately was unable to win the team. Naseem Shah played an inning of 10 runs in five balls with the help of two fours, hitting a four on the fifth ball of the inning to give the team the victory.

Afghanistan Scorecard

Rahmanullah Gurbaz 151151143100.00
Ibrahim Zadran 801016279.20
Mohammad Nabi 292930100.00
Rashid Khan 230066.66
Shahidullah 130033.33
Hashmatullah Shahidi (c)151120136.36
Abdul Rahman 4400100.00

Pakistan Scorecard

Fakhar Zaman 30345088.23
Imam-ul-Haq 911054086.66
Babar Azam (c)53666080.30
Mohammad Rizwan 270028.57
Agha Salman 14152093.33
Usama Mir 02000.00
Iftikhar Ahmed 17241070.83
Shadab Khan 483531137.14
Shaheen Shah Afridi 450080.00
Naseem Shah 10520200.00
Haris Rauf 3100300.00

Brilliant knock by Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Rahmanullah Gurbaz, the opening batsman for Afghanistan, reached his century against Pakistan in the second ODI in 122 balls with the help of seven fours and three sixes. Rahmanullah Gurbaz broke Babar Azam’s record by scoring his fifth century in the 23rd ODI innings of his career. Rahmanullah Gurbaz has climbed to number two on the list of the five fastest ODI hundreds ever.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz
AFG vs PAK, 2nd ODI: In a thrilling match, Pakistan won the series by defeating Afghanistan by one wicket 2

Quinton de Kock of South Africa and Imam-ul-Haq of Pakistan are tied for first place in terms of fastest centuries scored. In 19-19 innings, de Kock and Imam each reached their fifth ODI century. Babar Azam, who completed his five ODI centuries in 25 innings, was surpassed by Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

By working together for a century partnership, Ibrahim Zadran and Rahmanullah Gurbaz accomplished a unique feat for Afghanistan. As soon as he reached his century, however, Gurbaz accomplished a significant feat. He has scored a century in an ODI against Pakistan, making him the first batsman from Afghanistan to do so.

AFG vs PAK, 2nd ODI: Playing 11

Afghanistan Playing 11- Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Riaz Hassan, Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ikram Alikhil, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Shahidullah Kamal

Pakistan Playing 11 – Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Usama Mir, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

Read – Team India Next Match? Check Out Full September Schedule of Team India 2023

For more details head to ICC’s official website.

Bookmarked post
Aryan Thakur
Aryan Thakur
Aryan, cricket lover, writes on ICC Cricket Schedule. His articles cover cricket news, match analysis, and fantasy cricket tips, entertaining and informing fans.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS