Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeCricket NewsWPL 2023...

WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Awards, Stats and Records


WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Awards, Stats and Records: The inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) came to an end on 26th March 2023 with Mumbai Indians Women (MIW) getting crowned as the champions against Delhi Capitals Women (DCW). Harmanpreet Kaur led her side Mumbai Indians to the title victory in the exciting final which went down to a wire.

Earlier in the game, Delhi Capitals batted first and could only get to a fighting total of 131 runs in 20 overs. Mumbai bowlers never let Delhi take off their innings right from the start. Issy Wong and Hayley Matthews were the pick of the bowlers as both of them scalped three wickets apiece. Meanwhile, all-rounder, Amelie Kerr returned with two wickets.

Delhi captain Meg Lanning scored fighting 35 runs in 29 deliveries before getting run out in an unfortunate mix-up with Jess Jonassan. Sikha Pandey and Radha Yadav played superbly towards the end of the innings to add another 52 runs in mere 24 deliveries.

In response to a below-par total, Mumbai too lost the early wickets of both of their openers at a score of 23 runs. However, all-rounder Nat Sciver Brunt and captain Harmanpreet Kaur came and played rescue innings to take Mumbai Indian home last night. England’s Nat Sciver Brunt remained unbeaten at 60 runs from 55 deliveries while Harmanpreet Kaur scored 37 off 39 deliveries before getting run out.

Amelie Kerr provided the finishing touch to the innings by scoring quickfire 14 runs off eight deliveries. With three deliveries to spare, Mumbai chased down the total with seven wickets in hand and won the inaugural season of the WPL.

Down below is the complete list of WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money, Complete List of Awards, Stats and Records.

WPL 2023 Winner Prize Money

Mumbai Indians Women (MIW) won the WPL 2023 and received a shining trophy and cash prize of INR 6 Crores from the BCCI. Meanwhile, the runner-up, Delhi Capitals Women (DCW) received INR 3 Crores for their brilliant show.

WPL 2023 Complete List of Awards and Prize Money

AwardWinnerTeamPrize Money
Orange Cap (Highest Run Scorer)Meg Lanning (345 runs)Delhi Capitals WomenINR 5 Lakh
Purple Cap (Highest Wicket Taker)Hayley Matthews (16 wickets)Mumbai Indians WomenINR 5 Lakh
Power Striker of the SeasonSophie Devine (13 sixes)Royal Challengers Bangalore WomenINR 5 Lakh
Catch of the SeasonHarmanpreet Kaur against UP Warriorz (Match 15)Mumbai Indians WomenINR 5 Lakh
Most Valuable Player of the SeasonHayley Matthews (271 runs and 16 wickets)Mumbai Indians WomenINR 5 Lakh
Emerging Player of the SeasonYastika Bhatia (214 runs and 13 dismissals)Mumbai Indians WomenINR 5 Lakh
Fairplay AwardMumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals 
Player of the Match (FINAL)Nat Sciver-BruntMumbai Indians WomenINR 2.50 Lakh
Power Striker of the Match (FINAL)Radha Yadav (2 Sixes)Delhi Capitals WomenINR 1 Lakh

ALSO READ: IPL 2023 Schedule, Start Date, Time Table, Match List, Players, Squad, Venues, Live Streaming Details

For more details head to WPL’s official website.

Bookmarked post
Mohit Tiwari
Mohit Tiwari
Mohit is an experienced author at ICC Cricket Schedule, with a wealth of knowledge spanning 5 years. He specializes in crafting articles on various aspects of cricket, including news updates, fantasy cricket tips, statistical analysis, and insightful commentary.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS