T20 World Cup 2021: “Education is Important,” says Kieron Pollard on Quinton de Kock’s withdrawal from BLM
Image Source: Twitter

West Indies have finally announced their 15-men squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2022 that is set to be hosted by Australia in the month of October-November. India announced their squad yesterday and Bangladesh announced their squad earlier today. The Carribeans have now followed suit and announced their squad after much anticipation. 

Let us take a look at the West Indies squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup before analysing it in detail. 

West Indies T20 World Cup squad: Nicholas Pooran (c), Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Obed Mccoy, Raymon Reifer, Odean Smith, Rovman Powell, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein. 

West Indies have won two T20 World Cup titles in the past and there is no doubt in the fact that when it comes to the shortest format of cricket, they are simply the very best. Their unpredictability and fearless style of playing makes it very hard for any team to play against them. 

Nicholas Pooran, who is currently the captain of West Indies, is their best bet for sure. He is in great form in T20I and ODI and West Indies fans will look up to him for big innings in every match. The batting lineup of West Indies, starting from Evin Lewis to Shimron Hetmyer looks fully power packed and if even one of the their batters click in every match, the opposition will have a hard time getting a grip. 

However, that does not mean that they have a weak bowling attack. Infact, West Indies’ pace attack has some of the most efficient bowlers in the world like Jason Holder, Odean Smith, Sheldon Cottrell, etc. 

The real problem with West Indies is their lack of consistency. If they somehow manage to deal with that like they did in the 2018 T20 World Cup, this team can do wonders and definitely try to pick up this year’s title as well. 

Also Read:- Road Safety World Series 2022 – Know the Season 2 Schedule, Squads, Prediction and How to watch live in India