Vivo IPL 2021 PBKS vs MI: Punjab Kings (PBKS) defeats Mumbai Indians (MI) by nine wickets

Vivo IPL 2021 PBKS vs MI: Punjab Kings (PBKS) defeats Mumbai Indians (MI) by nine wickets.

Vivo IPL 2021: A responsible and tight bowling display followed by a fine innings from skipper KL Rahul and Chris Gayle hammered defending champions Mumbai Indians (MI) by nine wickets at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Mumbai.

KL Rahul won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Mumbai Indians once again failed to produce a good opening stand as wicketkeeper batsman Quinton de Kock struggled and was sent back by Deepak Hooda in the second over.

However Rohit Sharma took his time to read the things well and settle down at the wicket.

From the other end the constant pressure of dot balls was building up with Ishan Kishan scoring mere six runs off 17 odd deliveries before getting caught behind to KL Rahul off Ravi Bishnoi.

The men in Blues and Gold only managed to amass 21 runs with the loss of one wicket in the powerplay which was the lowest this season. 

Suryakumar Yadav and Skipper Rohit Sharma brought Mumbai innings back into the track after the first couple of cheap dismissals. SKY scored fluent 33 from 27 balls with three boundaries and a six while Rohit Sharma held the other end and scored his first half-ton of the fourteenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Yadav was dismissed by leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi trying to play reverse sweep but only managed to get a top edge and was caught by Chris Gayle.

Skipper Rohit Sharma was also dismissed after scoring sensible 52 balls 63 with the help of five fours and two sixes. Mohammad Shami provided the breakthrough in the 18th over.

After the wicket of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians middle order struggled to score quick runs in the death overs and PBKS bowlers restricted them to just 131 runs in the loss of 6 wickets.

Speedster Mohammad Shami and Leggie Ravi Bishnoi picked two wickets each while Arshdeep Singh and Deepak Hooda got one apiece under their belt.

Chasing a low total, PBKS opener KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal accelerated the innings in the powerplay and scored runs in every possible loose delivery. 

Leg Spinner Rahul Chahar picked Mayank Agarwal (25 off 20) in the 8th over after Punjab crossed fifty runs on the board.

While skipper KL Rahul and Chris Gayle took their team over the line in the 18th over. In the process, Rahul completed his half century.

Chris Gayle scored unbeaten 43 from 35 deliveries while KL Rahul amassed 60 from 52.

For his fine knock and bring the game home, KL Rahul was rewarded as the “Man of the Match”.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Hitting Boundaries In The Middle Overs Was Not Easy, Says Devdutt Padikkal
Vivo IPL 2021 Points Table, Orange Cap Holder, Purple Cap Holder List