Sunday, July 21, 2024
HomeCricket NewsPrize Money...

Prize Money of T20 World Cup 2022 Announced, Winner to get USD 1.6 Million


Prize Money of T20 World Cup 2022 Announced, Winner to get USD 1.6 Million: The winner of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 on November 13th at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) will take home a whopping sum of USD 1.6 Million, announced the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday.

The governing body confirmed that a total of USD 5.6 Million will be given away as prize money to 16 participating teams in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022, which is slated to begin on 16th October Down Under.

The ICC announced that while the champions of the tournament will be awarded USD 1.6 Million, the runner-ups will fetch half the amount allocated to the winners (USD 0.8 Million).

It further announced that teams that will make an exit playing the Super 12 round will receive  $70,000 as a reward. Just like the year’s T20 World Cup, each win in the Super 12 round will be worth $40,000. Notably, eight teams will have to return to their country in the Super 12 round.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of T20 World Cup 2022 – Reports

Prize Money of T20 World Cup 2022 Details:

Winners1$ 1,600,000$ 1,600,000
Runners-Up1$ 800,000$ 800,000
Losing Semi-finalists2$ 400,000$ 800,000
Super 12 Wins30$ 40,000$ 1,200,000
Super 12 Exit8$ 70,000$ 560,000
First Round Win12$ 40,000$ 480,000
First Round Exit4$ 40,000$ 160,000
Total$ 5,600,000

T20 World Cup 2022 Teams:

As many as 16 teams will take part in the eighth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup which is scheduled to be held in Australia. While eight teams have directly qualified for the Super 12 round, the remaining four sides will have to go through a qualifying round, starting October 16.

Afghanistan, New Zealand, Australia, England, India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and South Africa are the automatic qualifiers. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Namibia, UAE in Group A and Scotland, Ireland West Indies and Zimbabwe in Group B will compete in the qualifying round to make a place for themselves in the Super 12s.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule: Date, Time, Fixtures, Teams, Squads, Venue, Live Streaming & Telecast

Bookmarked post
Mohit Tiwari
Mohit Tiwari
Mohit is an experienced author at ICC Cricket Schedule, with a wealth of knowledge spanning 5 years. He specializes in crafting articles on various aspects of cricket, including news updates, fantasy cricket tips, statistical analysis, and insightful commentary.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS