Orange Cap and Purple Cap winner in the Tata IPL 2022, according to Aakash Chopra

Orange Cap and Purple Cap winner in the Tata IPL 2022, according to Aakash Chopra: Former Indian cricketer and renowned commentator Aakash Chopra reckons with a good squad in place, Punjab Kings (PBKS) will eventually storm into the playoffs of the Tata IPL 2022. The franchise released all its players and formed a different squad from square one during the two-day IPL mega auction, held in February.

The franchise only retained Mayank Agarwal, the skipper, and Arshdeep Singh ahead of the auction. They further went on to form a formidable squad with a couple of good buys at the auction table.

The famous broadcaster in his Youtube video talked about how Punjab Kings will fare in the Tata IPL 2022 and also predicted the highest run-getter and highest wicket-taker for the team.

Giving a bold prediction, Chopra said that Shikhar Dhawan might end up being the Orange Cap winner in the IPL 2022 along with his teammate Kagiso Rabada bagging the Purple cap award for most wickets in the season.

“Shikhar Dhawan will be the leading run-scorer for Punjab Kings. There is a possibility that he might win the Orange Cap in the process as well. Rabada will be the leading wicket-taker, he might win the Purple Cap as well,” said Aakash Chopra in his Youtube video.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Expected Captains of all 10 IPL teams in IPL 2022

“The highest strike rate is a close call between Agarwal, Livingstone, and Shahrukh, but I think it’ll be Livingstone. I think they should finish in the top four, they have the team to do so,” he added.

The 44-years old commentator then predicted Punjab’s first playing11 for their opening match against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the IPL 2022. Punjab Kings (PBKS) will lock horns against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on March 27 in the DY Patil Stadium.

“Dhawan and Mayank to open the innings. They might be the most consistent opening pair. With Bairstow not there for the first couple of matches, they will have to play Prabhsimran Singh at No. 3. Then comes Liam Livingstone and Shahrukh Khan, then Benny Howell at No. 6. Odean Smith, Rahul Chahar, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Sharma, and Arshdeep as the bowlers. This team will be even better after Bairstow returns.”

PBKS Playing11 against RCB: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal (c), Prabhsimran Singh, Liam Livingstone, Shahrukh Khan, Benny Howell, Odean Smith, Rahul Chahar, Kagiso Rabada, Sandeep Sharma, Arshdeep Singh.

The last few seasons haven’t been easy for Punjab Kings (PBKS). The franchise endured an uphill-downhill show with their players performing inconsistently. However, with a fantastic squad for the upcoming season, they would be hoping to see bright signs.

ALSO READ: Jason Roy slapped 2-Match ban, $3,300 fine for misconduct from ECB