India vs New Zealand: Kane Williamson opts out of T20I series against India, focus on Test
Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson opts out of the T20I series against India, focus on Test.

India vs New Zealand: The touring team captain Kane Williamson has opted to let go of the upcoming T20I series against India as he is looking forward to focusing on the test series. New Zealand has announced experienced pacer Tim Southee to be the stand-in skipper of the side.

The 15-men strong kiwi squad has arrived in Jaipur, where the first T20I between India and New Zealand is scheduled. 

Following the three matches T20I series, the focus of the two clashing sides will shift to the red ball fixtures. India and New Zealand are scheduled to play two test matches scheduled in Kanpur and Mumbai respectively.

“Kane Williamson will miss this week’s three-game T20 series against India as he prioritises preparing for the Test series starting on November 25 in Kanpur. #INDvNZ,” wrote New Zealand Cricket (NZC) in a statement.

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2022 Final: Australia’s MCG to stage T20 World Cup 2022 Final, Confirmed!

Ace pacer Trent Boult is has asked for rest for the Test series, however, he will be available for the T20I series. 

In encouraging news for the kiwis, pacer Lokie Ferguson is likely to recuperate on time and is deemed available for the T20I series.

New Zealand’s T20 squad for India: Todd Astle, Adam Milne, Mark Chapman, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Lockie Ferguson, Mitchell Santner, Trent Boult, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Kane Williamson

New Zealand’s Test squad for India: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Tom Latham, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Will Somerville, Henry Nicholls, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, Will Young

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya clear rumours on his two watches worth 5 Crores seized by Airport Customs