IPL Schedule 2024 - Time Table, Venues, Teams, Match Details
Image: IPLT20.com

IPL 2024: After completing the players retention and release process on November 26, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have set November 30 (Thursday) as the deadline for player registration for the IPL 2024 Auction, which is scheduled to be held on December 19.

The interested players will have to register themselves and provide a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from their respective board during the IPL 2024 Auction registration.

The BCCI expects as many as 700 national and international players to register themselves for the IPL 2024 Auction. However, only a handful of them will be able to find a franchise as 77 slots are to be filled in the auction.

The IPL franchises retained a total of 173 players – all 10 IPL franchises combined. Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) retained the most number of players each – 19. A team can have a contingent of 25 players, including five overseas.

With only 77 slots up for grabs, the list of expected 700 players will be trimmed down in the coming days. The franchises will be asked to put names of the players they want to be present in the auction and only those will go under the hammer on December 17. The rest of the unannounced names will be rejected in the first stage only.

A total of INR 262.95 Crores of purse value is available with 10 IPL teams for the auction out of INR 1000 crores offered initially (INR 100 Crores per team).

The players who have performed brilliantly during the recently held ICC ODI World Cup 2023 in India would certainly be amongst the hot picks. The likes of Daryl Mitchell, Rachin Ravindra, Pat Cummins, Travis Head, Rahmat Shah, Ibrahim Zadran and Mitchell Starc among others would attract lucrative deals.

Among those, Mitchell Starc, who has often made himself unavailable for the IPL, is in demand with reports of him being approached by at least 5 IPL franchises flooding the market.

Interestingly, Starc made his IPL debut in 2014, which turned out to be pretty ordinary season for him. However, in the next edition, he turned out to be a star pacer for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). He scalped 20 wickets in the 2015 edition of the IPL and 14 in the previous season. However, since 2015 he has often made himself unavailable for the IPL.

ALSO READ: IND vs SA: BCCI to convince Rohit Sharma to lead India in T20I series against South Africa, Suryakumar Yadav likely to be backup choice

Visit the ICC’s OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates