Img subjected to copyright.

IPL 2022 has already begun. 4 games of the tournament have happened. KKR, Punjab, Delhi, and the Titans have ended with victories. CSK, MI, RCB, and Lucknow Super Giants are yet to get started. The game on Tuesday featured the Rajasthan Royals taking on the Sunrisers Hyderabad. It was an amazing contest as the Royal Rajputs took on the Hyderabadi Nawabs. Rajasthan Royals won by 61 runs. The Rajasthan batting had an amazing display from Sanju Samson, Devdutt Padikkal, and Hetmyer as well. Here is an in-depth look: 

IPL 2022, Sunrisers Hyderabad Playing XI: 

Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Kane Williamson (c), Nicholas Pooran (wk), Aiden Markram, Abdul Samad, Washington Sundar, Romario Shepherd, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik. 

IPL 2022, Rajasthan Royals Playing XI: 

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Devdutt Padikkal, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna. 

Rajasthan Royals VS Sunrisers Hyderabad RR Batting: 

The toss was won by Kane Williamson and he opted to field first. This has become the regular strategy for the IPL teams in the initial few games. The team that wins the toss chooses to field as they want to assess the pitch and also want to take advantage of the dew. But this happened to be a bad decision as Jos Butler and Yashaswi Jaiswal were in the mood. They hit the RR bowlers from the word go!  

In the first over of pace-sensation, Umran Malik went for 21 runs! But before Butler could do immense damage, Umran came back and sent him to the pavilion. Umran as expected was clocking 150kmph. Washington Sundar leaked runs at 15.3 runs per over. He was bowling short balls and Sanju Samson and Devdutt Padikkal smashed him. T Natarajan also scalped two wickets. When Samson went back, he finished with an elite score of 55 off 27 balls. The team was at 164-4 when he went back. Hetmyer continued from then on. And the Rajasthan team went on to post a mammoth 210 runs.  

Brief Scores: 

Sanju Samson 55 off 27.  

Devdutt Padikkal 41 off 29. 

Shimron Hetmyer 32 of 13.  

Umran Malik 2/39. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad Batting: 

The Sunrisers Hyderabad batting was looking off-color from the very beginning. Kane Williamson was out to a marvelous catch at the hands of Devdutt Padikkal. Trent Boult was spitting fire with the ball in hand. Prasidh Krishna also made the batters’ life difficult. Prasidh then struck and took the wicket of Rahul Tripathi. Before SRH could settle, Boult took the wicket of Nicholas Pooran! SRH was staggering at 9 –3! Abhishek Sharma was slow and steady but as soon as he looked to break the shackles, he handed out a catch. SRH was at 29/4. Aiden Markram came alongside Romario Shepherd to support the innings.  He eventually was the lone warrior who stayed till the end.

Yuzi Chahal took the wickets of Abhishek, Abdul Samad, and Romario Shepherd. Washington Sundar was then at the crease. He hit a few lusty blows to Nathan Coulter-Nile but by that time the match was gone. Coulter-Nile leaked 24 runs in that over. Washington was showing his class. He was feeling himself. He also hit Trent Boult for a few long shots. His cover drive was a treat to watch but he handed out a catch too. 

But it was too late and it was impossible to win the game from that position.  

Brief Scores: 

Aiden Markram: 56 runs of 40 balls.

Washington Sundar: 40 of 14 balls.

Romario Shepherd: 24 of 18 balls. 

Yuzvendra Chahal: 3/22.  

Prasidh Krishna: 2/16. 

To know more go to the official website of the IPL.