Home Cricket News IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on May...

IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on May 26

IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap: KL Rahul-led Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Faf du Plessis spearheaded Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) locked horns in the high-pressure eliminator of the Tata Indian Premier League (IPL) season fifteen in the Eden Garden, Kolkata.

IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap - Updated on May 26

The Faf du Plessis and his men thrashed Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and advanced further in their quest for the maiden IPL title. 

KL Rahul elected to bowl first after winning the flip of the coin, earlier. Lucknow got a brilliant start to their innings as RCB skipper Faf du Plessis was dismissed for a nought (0) in the first over of Moshin Khan. 

The platform was set and LSG bowlers just need to hit the right areas, however, RCB came up with a counter-attacking play. Virat Kohli and Rajat Patidar played sensible cricket along with a few calculated risks and passed the initial hurdle.

Lucknow bowlers did well to dismiss Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell and Mahipal Lomror without bearing heavy damages, however, Rajat Patidar, at another end, was looking in majestic touch.

Patidar paired with Dinesh Karthik wreaked havoc in Kolkata’s Eden Garden and tormented Lucknow bowlers. Rajat Patidar completed his century as he amassed unbeaten 112 runs from 54 deliveries while Dinesh Karthik contributed with 23-ball 37. Owing to sensational efforts from both the batters, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) posted a total of 207 runs in 20 overs.

In pursuit of 208 runs, LSG lost Quinton de Kock early on in the innings. Manan Vohra, who came after de Kock’s dismissal, also couldn’t do much and was dismissed for 19 runs.

However, the LSG inning was restored by skipper KL Rahul and Deepak Hooda. Both the batters took timely risks to keep up with the climbing required run rate. Skipper Rahul scored 79 runs and was dismissed in the crucial time, while Deepak Hooda amassed 26-ball 45.

Eventually, following LSG’s lower middle order failure, they fell 14 runs short of the target and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) sealed the match.

This article will take you through IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap – Updated on May 26th after LSG vs RCB fixture.

IPL 2022 Points Table:

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) defeated Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in a do-or-die fixture and confirmed their place in the qualifier 2 of the Tata IPL 2022. RCB will now face Rajasthan Royals in the qualifier 2.

The winner of the qualifier two will then face Gujarat Titans (GT) in the final of the Tata IPL 2022.

Meanwhile, Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) have been knocked out of the tournament after receiving a thumping from RCB.

ALSO READ: Players Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) might release ahead of IPL 2023

IPL 2022 Orange Cap:

orange cap 20
Image: IPLT20.com

KL Rahul scored 79 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore which helped him cross the 600-runs mark overall in the IPL 2022. This is the third consecutive time KL Rahul has breached the 600-runs mark in the IPL. Rahul is placed second in the orange cap race with 616 runs from 15 matches.

Quinton de Kock could only manage to get 6 runs, last night, however, the southpaw remained firm in his third place with 508 runs in 15 matches.

Deepak Hooda also was at his best in the last match for LSG where he scored a quickfire 45 runs off 26 deliveries which helped him jump to the sixth spot. Hooda has amassed 451 runs from 15 matches in the IPL 2022.

IPL 2022 Purple Cap:

purple cap 19
Image: IPLT20.com

RCB spinner Wanindu Hasaranga scalped a wicket against LSG, last night, which took him an inch closer to Yuzvendra Chahal in the purple cap tally. Hasaranga is just one wicket behind RR spinner Yuzvendra Chahal and is placed second in the purple cap race.

Harshal Patel was highly impressive in the death overs against LSG. He picked up the key wicket of Marcus Stoinis and helped his side win the battle. Patel has scalped 19 wickets in the 14 IPL 2022 matches.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Rajat Patidar Scores 112*. Other Uncapped Players to 100s.