Img subjected to copyright.

TATA IPL 2022 is just two days away. The tournament brings with it many nail-biting games and the excitement of a lifetime. The festival of cricket will feature Chennai Super Kings taking on the Kolkata Knight Riders. Shreyas Iyer will be leading the team from the far eastern part of India. While Thala Dhoni will be seen leading the men in yellow. How significant is the number 2 in the IPL? Here’s a look: 

2: Number of Times KKR has won the IPL before IPL 2022: 

The Kolkata Knight Riders, the finalists from IPL 2021 will be featured in the first game of the tournament. They have won the TATA IPL 2 times earlier. Kolkata Knight Riders were led by Gautam Gambhir in both their successful seasons. Gambhir joined the team in 2010 and since then changed the fortunes of this struggling team. The first triumph came in 2012 when Manvinder Bisla got the team to victory. The second came in 2014 when Manish Pandey showed his class on the night of the final.  

cricket ig1 min
IMG SRC: CricketAddictor.

2: Number of Times Bhuvneshwar Kumar has won the Purple Cap Before IPL 2022: 

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only player in the history of the IPL to win the purple cap two times. Bhuvneshwar has played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, and Pune Warriors India. Bhuvi has won the prestigious purple cap in 2016 and 2017. 2016 was a dream season for the Sunrisers as they also won the IPL Trophy. Bhuvi was an integral part of that champion side.  

2: New Teams Making a Debut in the IPL: 

 2 New Teams will be making their debut in this IPL season. A total of ten teams will be participating. The two new teams are Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants. The Lucknow Super Giants have been bought by the RPSG group for a whopping 7090 Crores during the bidding process. The Gujarat Titans on the other hand have been bought by CVC Capital Group for 5600+ Crores. This jaw-dropping amount just shows the stature at which the league is taking place. The Lucknow Super Giants will be led by KL Rahul and his colleague and friend Hardik Pandya will be the skipper of the Gujarat Titans. Both teams will take the field on the 28th of March.  

2: Number of Reviews Available Per Inning for Every Team in IPL 2022: 

The latest rule change in the IPL is that 2 reviews are available for every team per inning. Earlier only one review was available. The umpiring in the world’s toughest T20 league has been under scrutiny for quite some time now. The tournament features the best umpires from the country. The panel has names like S Ravi, Nitin Menon, Anil Chaudhary, and Javagal Srinath as the match referee. If the league is world-class, the rules also need to be according to the international level and hence this change has been made.  

IPL Tickets Booking and Availability: 

IPL Ticket Booking began on the 23rd of March. The tickets for the first few games are sold out. However, there are many resellers. Book My Show and IPL Official Website are the only official portals to book the tickets.  

The ticket price ranges from 800 onwards. The prices rise as far as 4000 for the lounge rooms. The games will be played with crowds only up to 25% capacity. The Maharashtra Government has issued an SOP for the crowd as well.  

To know more go to the official website of the IPL.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.