Shreyas Iyer
Source: Deccan Herald

ICC World Cup 2023 is keeping everyone on its toes even though the tournament hasn’t started yet. The excitement is getting doubled up as each day passes by. The cricket extravaganza will take place in India from 5th October and the final is all set to take place on 19th November. The tournament will open with a blockbuster clash between England and New Zealand

ICC World Cup 2023: Gautam Gambhir Leaves Out Shreyas Iyer and Shardul Thakur as he names his Indian squad for WC

All Squads for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, India to announce World Cup squad at 1:30 PM
Team India during Asia Cup 2023 | Associated Press

India will be one of the strongest contenders to win the ICC World Cup 2023. They will be having conditions in their favour and all they need to do is to play to their potential. Their squad will be announced soon and it remains to be seen who will make it into the final 15. 

Gautam Gambhir has named his Indian squad for the World Cup. What caught the attention of many was he dropped Shreyas Iyer from the team along with Shardul Thakur. The duo has been contributing immensely to the team in the recent past. 

Gautam Gambhir backed Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as two openers in the team. Whereas Virat Kohli will bat at No.3. The former Indian cricketer preferred Suryakumar Yadav over Iyer. Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul are two keepers in the team for the ICC World Cup 2023.

Read Also: IND vs PAK: India playing 11 for the game against Pakistan in the ICC World Cup Prediction

Hardik Pandya along with Ravindra Jadeja along with Axar Patel were also picked by him. He also has a wild card entry to Washington Sundar in the team. Kuldeep Yadav is another spinning option picked by him for the ICC World Cup 2023. 

He also picked four pacers in the team in Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami in the Indian squad for the ICC World Cup 2023. 

ICC World Cup 2023: Gautam Gambhir’s squad for the World Cup

ICC World Cup 2023

Here’s Gautam Gambhir’s squad for the ICC World Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Akshar Patel, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami