Rohit Sharma

Former India cricketer Suresh Raina took a subtle dig at Hardik Pandya after he was appointed as captain of Mumbai Indians. He said that Rohit Sharma has selected two players for the T20 World Cup 2024 and is therefore captain of all the 10 IPL teams. 

This comes after Mumbai Indians removed Rohit Sharma as a captain of the franchise ahead of the IPL 2024. The team management handed over the captaincy to Hardik Pandya, who was traded to Mumbai Indians after leading Gujarat Titans for two seasons in the league. 

This irked Mumbai Indians fans a lot because Rohit Sharma has been exceptional as a leader of the Mumbai Indians. He has made the franchise most successful in the league as he has guided them to 5 IPL titles in the tournament. 

Also read: Join Our WhatsApp Channel for IPL 2024: Get Winning Fantasy Team Tips and Exclusive Updates

Rohit Sharma was handed the captaincy of Mumbai Indians in 2013 and in that season only he led the team to victory. After that, he didn’t look back and won four more titles. It was expected that he would captain the team in the ongoing IPL 2024 as well but that wasn’t the case as MI made a massive change. 

With Rohit Sharma being removed as captain of Mumbai Indians in this manner, this didn’t go well with many. New skipper Hardik Pandya and the management faced a lot of criticism for the way they handled the senior opener. 

GT vs MI: Suresh Raina delivers a massive statement on Rohit Sharma 

With all the saga over the removal of Rohit Sharma as captain of Mumbai Indians, Suresh Raina made a massive statement. He said that the senior batter is already captain of all the 10 IPL teams at the moment. Speaking to Jio Cinema, he stated:  

“Rohit Sharma has a strong fan army wherever he will travel – recently defeated England & has to select players for the T20 World Cup so ideally he is the captain of all these 10 IPL teams at the moment.”

Rohit Sharma will be seen in action when Mumbai Indians take on Gujarat Titans in the first match of IPL 2024. The match will take place in Ahmedabad on Sunday (24th March).