INDvsWI: Limited overs series against West Indies will be played in Ahmedabad and Kolkata only
Image: Randy Brooks/AFP

BCCI likely to reduce venues for upcoming West Indies tour of India due to covid: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is likely to reduce the venues of the upcoming white-ball series against West Indies due to the rapid upsurge in the covid cases across the country. West Indies will tour India for three matches ODI series and three matches T20I series, starting February 6th.

The third wave of coronavirus has begun wreaking havoc in India. The cases on daily basis are taking a huge spike. In the last 24 hours, India reported 1,41,986 covid cases. Owing to the situation, several state governments have introduced curbs and curfews to prevent the further spreading of the dreaded virus.

The six white-ball matches against West Indies are currently scheduled to be held in six different venues across India. However, the prevailing situation may force the BCCI to rethink and prompt the cricket board to reduce the number of venues.

With excessive travel plans, the players will be at high risk of getting infected with the virus. However, this can be prevented by minimising travel.

“Nothing has been decided as of now. This is a fluid situation and we are keeping an eye on the situation, and we will take a call at the appropriate time,” a senior BCCI official told PTI.

ALSO READ: ICC Player of the Month nominee announced for December 2021, Mayank Agarwal named

The BCCI might curtail the number of venues and host the West Indies white ball series in just three stadiums.

As of now, Ahmedabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Cuttack, Visakhapatnam and Thiruvananthapuram are scheduled to host the respective ODI and T20I matches.

West Indies squad will undergo a three days isolation after their arrival in Ahmedabad. The BCCI may also increase the isolation period for the West Indies players to sharply protect the players.

Here is the complete schedule for the West Indies tour of India 2022:

Feb 06 – 1st ODI – Ahmedabad

Feb 09 – 2nd ODI – Jaipur

Feb 12 – 3rd ODI – Kolkata

Feb 15 – 1st T20I – Cuttack

Feb 18 – 2nd T20I – Visakhapatnam

Feb 20 – 3rd T20I – Thiruvananthpuram

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Captain of Lucknow IPL Team in the IPL 2022