img subjected to copyright.

TATA IPL 2022 is set to begin on the 26th of March. The festival of cricket will feature many strikers of the ball. The IPL has a legacy of big-hitters. The tournament has seen the best hitters over the years. The list includes the very obvious Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, MS Dhoni the lesser-known Corey Anderson, Aiden Blizzard, and many such players. So, who are the batters that have hit the most sixes in IPL history? Here is a look: 

List of Top 10 Batters with Most Sixes before TATA IPL 2022: 

Name of Player Number of Sixes 
Chris Gayle 355 
AB De Villiers 250 
Rohit Sharma 227 
MS Dhoni 219 
Kieron Pollard 213 
Virat Kohli 210 
Suresh Raina 203 
David Warner 196 
Shane Watson 190 
Robin Uthappa 166 

Chris Gayle has hit 355 sixes before TATA IPL 2022: 

Christopher Henry Gayle, the Universe Boss, from Jamaica is in a league of his own. He is 105 sixes ahead of the second-placed AB De Villers on this list. Chris Gayle has also hit the most, 6 100s in the IPL. One can never forget his inning in IPL 2011. Chris blew away the Pune Warriors India with a breath-taking 175. He smoked every ball out of the park that evening. The Universe Boss played for 3 franchises in the IPL. He played for KKR, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and the Punjab Kings. He was in his prime when playing for RCB.  

AB De Villiers has hit 250 sixes before TATA IPL 2022: 

ABD is loved more in India than in South Africa. In 2014 when South Africa toured India, the Wankhede was chanting his name as ABD smashed the Indian bowlers. This performance shows the impact of the South African legend. His hundred against the Mumbai Indians in 2016 and his partnership with Virat Kohli against the Gujarat Lions are cherished by the fans to date. ABD also scored a hundred while playing for the Delhi Daredevils.  

Rohit Sharma has hit 227 sixes: 

The most successful captain in the history of the IPL also features on this list. Rohit has played for two franchises in his IPL career. He began playing for the Deccan Chargers and then switched to the Mumbai Indians. Ever since taking captaincy for Mumbai Indians, Rohit’s career took a new flight. Since 2013, Rohit has been an integral part of the Mumbai Indians’ batting. His hundred against KKR at Eden Gardens was an exquisite inning. Due to Rohit Sharma, David Hussey stopped bowling! It was when Rohit smashed Hussey for 26 runs in one over in 2013. 

cricket if1 min 1
IMG SRC: The Financial Express.

MS Dhoni has hit 219 sixes: 

MSD was a batter who established his name as a “six-hitter” in the initial stages of his career. While selecting him for the Indian national team, Kiran More identified him as a hitter. What Dhoni has achieved since making his debut for India is something that cannot be matched. MS needs no introduction as his work speaks volumes. MS Dhoni is the calmest finisher that the IPL has ever witnessed. His inning against RCB in 2019, the one against KXIP in 2010, and the one against RCB in 2020 is something that the fans cannot get over.  

Kieron Pollard has hit 213 sixes: 

cricket ie2 min 1
IMG SRC: Jamaican Express.

Kieron Pollard is one of the biggest match-winner that the IPL has ever witnessed. This big man from Trinidad has won the hearts of all the Mumbaikars. Pollard has won many games for the Mumbai team. His inning in 2018 against the Punjab Kings, in 2021 against the Super Kings, and his innings in the finals of 2010 and 2013 are valued by the Mumbai team. In a time of crisis, Polly is the man! Pollard hits at a strike rate of 145!  

To know more go to the official website of the IPL.

To know more go to the official website of the BCCI.