Australia vs Afghanistan
Australia vs Afghanistan

T20 World Cup 2022: Australia vs. Afghanistan Australia wins by four runs; know the qualification scenario of Australia.: Australia wins by four runs in this nail-biting thriller. The 38th match of the WC 2022 was played in Adelaide, Australia, between Australia and Afghanistan.

After winning the toss, Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi elected to bowl first. In reply, Australia scored 168 runs in 20 overs with an eight-wicket loss. Australian player Glenn Maxwell scored 54, while Mitchell Marsh scored 45.

In reply, Afghanistan’s team could only manage 164 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs. Rashid Khan played an unbeaten inning of 48 runs in 23 balls in the last over, but unfortunately, he could not lead the team to victory.

Read More: ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Points Table

Rashid hit three fours and four sixes. Afghanistan had to score 22 runs in the last over to win, but they could only score 17 runs. Apart from Rashid, Gulbadin Naib scored 39 runs and Rahmanullah Gurbaz scored 30 runs for Afghanistan.

With this win, Australia still remains in the race for the semi-finals.

Qualification Scenario for AUS: With this win for Australia against Afghanistan, they have kept their semi-final hopes alive. Australia defeated Afghanistan as well as knocking Sri Lanka out of the race for the semi-finals.

Australia has seven points in five matches. New Zealand also has seven points from five matches. But, New Zealand is ahead of Australia on the basis of a better net run rate. Australia will now have to pray for Sri Lanka’s victory against England on Saturday to reach the semi-finals.

Player of the Match: Glenn Maxwell

Read More: IPL 2023: Top 3 Players Chennai Super Kings Might Release Before IPL 2023 Auction.  

Playing 11 of Australia vs. Afghanistan

Australia|Playing 11: Cameron Green, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Afghanistan|Playing 11: Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi