South Africa announces squad for ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022
Image Source: Twitter

Cricket South Africa (CSA), on Tuesday, has named its 15-men strong T20I squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia. Seasoned skipper Temba Bavuma is back in the side and will lead the South African campaign Down Under in the show-piece event, starting 22nd October 2022.

Right-arm batter Rassie Van der Dussen has missed the final squad as he continues to nurse his finger injury, which he suffered against England. Van der Dussen is expected to undergo surgery in the coming few weeks which will keep him out of action for at least six weeks.

Bavuma, who had sustained an elbow injury, has recovered and will be leading the Protea side. Bavuma opted for conservative treatment instead of surgery so as to get fit for the approaching World Cup.

The likes of Quinton de Kock, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, and David Miller among others have made it to the final 15. Meanwhile, Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo are named as reserve players.

The pace trio of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi will lead the bowling attack with the assistance of Tabraiz Shamshi and Wayne Parnell.

Notably, this same South African squad will travel to India for the three-match T20I series ahead of the T20 World Cup 2022. South Africa’s India tour will begin on 28th September.

South Africa T20 World Cup 2022 Squad:

Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma (c), Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorius, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Rillee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Reserves: Bjorn Fortuin, Marco Jansen and Andile Phehlukwayo.

ALSO READ: Pakistan vs Afghanistan Super 4 Dream11 Prediction, Fantasy Tips, Playing11, Weather Forecast, Pitch Report