SA vs IND: Indian team suffered a shameful defeat in Centurion | South Africa vs India Match Highlights
Nandre Burger | Pic: X ( Proteas Men)

South Africa vs India Match Highlights: The disappointing performance of the Indian team continues against South Africa on African soil. The Indian team has faced a shameful defeat in the Centurion Test. With this defeat, the Indian team’s dream of winning the Test series in South Africa remains unfulfilled for now. Down below are the South Africa vs India Match Highlights of the 1st Test Match

Match Details

  • Tour: India tour of South Africa, 2023–24
  • Match: RSA vs IND, 1st Test
  • Date: Tuesday, December 26, 2023 – Saturday, December 30, 2023
  • Toss: South Africa won the toss and opted to bowl
  • Time: 1:30 PM
  • Venue: SuperSport Park, Centurion
  • Match Result: SA won by an inning and 32 runs

India First Inning

In the Centurion Test match, Proteas captain Temba Bavuma won the toss and invited the Indian team to bat first. In response, the Indian team scored 245 runs while batting in 67.4 overs. Only KL Rahul showed a good performance from the Indian team, he scored 101 runs in 137 balls with the help of 14 fours and four sixes.

In bowling action for South Africa, Rabada took five wickets for 59 runs in 20 overs in the first innings, while Nandre Burger, playing his first Test match, took three wickets in the first innings.

Yashasvi Jaiswal 17374045.94
Rohit Sharma (c)5141035.71
Shubman Gill 2120016.66
Virat Kohli 38645059.37
Shreyas Iyer 31503162.00
KL Rahul 10113714473.72
Ravichandran Ashwin 8112072.72
Shardul Thakur 24333072.72
Jasprit Bumrah 119005.26
Mohammed Siraj 5220022.72
Prasidh Krishna 08000.00

South Africa 1st Inning

In the first inning, South Africa batted 108.4 overs and scored a huge score of 408 runs. Dean Elgar, playing his final Test series, scored 185 runs on 287 balls with the help of 28 fours. David Bedingham scored 56 runs, while lower-order batsman Marco Jansen scored 84 runs.

Aiden Markram 5171029.41
Dean Elgar 18528728064.45
Tony de Zorzi 28625045.16
Keegan Petersen 270028.57
David Bedingham 56877264.36
Kyle Verreynne 471057.14
Marco Jansen 8414711157.14
Gerald Coetzee 191821105.55
Kagiso Rabada 190011.11
Nandre Burger 020000.00

India 2nd Inning

In the second inning, the Indian team was all out for just 131 runs. Apart from Virat Kohli, no batsman from the team could stand against the Proteus bowling attack. Captain Rohit Sharma was out for five runs in the first inning and out for a duck in the second inning. Yashasvi Jaiswal scored five runs, and the Indian team’s Prince Shubman Gill, who was playing in place of Cheteshwar Pujara, also got clean bowled by Jansen after scoring 26 runs.

Shubman Gill
SA vs IND: Indian team suffered a shameful defeat in Centurion | South Africa vs India Match Highlights 2

Virat Kohli kept fighting on the wicket till the end, but he did not get support from any of the Indian batsmen. Kohli played a brilliant inning of 76 runs in just 82 balls with the help of 12 fours and one six. KL Rahul, the century winner of the first inning, also got caught out on the ball of Nandre Burger in the second inning.

Yashasvi Jaiswal 5181027.77
Rohit Sharma (c)08000.00
Shubman Gill 26376070.27
Virat Kohli 768212192.68
Shreyas Iyer 6121050.00
KL Rahul 4241016.66
Ravichandran Ashwin 01000.00
Shardul Thakur 280025.00
Jasprit Bumrah 05000.00
Mohammed Siraj 451080.00
Prasidh Krishna 05000.00

The last match of the Test series will be played at Newlands Stadium in Cape Town. The first test match ended on the third day itself, after which the Indian team is being severely criticized. The same team’s dream of winning the Test series on African soil remains unfulfilled. By winning the last match, Rohit Sharma and company will look to end the Test series at 1-1.

South Africa Playing 11

Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Tony de Zorzi, Temba Bavuma (c), Keegan Petersen, David Bedingham, Kyle Verreynne (wk), Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Kagiso Rabada, Nandre Burger

India Playing 11

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

Read: David Warner all set to miss the ODI and The T20i series against the West Indies

Visit the ICC OFFICIAL WEBSITE for more recent updates.