Ruturaj Gaikwad ruled out of T20I series against New Zealand due to a freak wrist injury | India vs New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

India vs New Zealand T20I Series: Maharashtra batter Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand due to freak wrist pain. The opening batter had headed to National Cricket Academy (NCA) Bangalore to undergo prognosis and rehabilitation.

According to the report published on, Gaikwad complained of wrist pain to the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) after his domestic team Maharashtra’s Ranji Trophy match against Hyderabad, in which he had an underwhelming outing of 8 and 0 run in two innings.

Reportedly, the Indian management isn’t pleased with how Ruturaj Gaikwad has maintained his fitness in the recent past and missed the T20I & ODI assignments due to illness. A similar wrist injury last year prevented him from taking part in the Sri Lanka T20I series. Ruturaj had also missed the One Day International (ODI) series against West Indies after testing Covid positive, last year.

It has been learned that the cricket board is unlikely to announce a replacement as the likes of Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan and Prithvi Shaw are in the ranks.

The three-match T20I series between India and New Zealand will begin on 27th January 2023 at JSCA International Stadium Complex in Ranchi. The two sides will then travel to Lucknow for the second T20I assignment before heading to the iconic AHmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium for the final T20I.

Day/DateMatch DetailsVenueTime (IST)
Friday/27 JanIndia vs New Zealand 1st T20IRanchi7:00 PM
Sunday/29 JanIndia vs New Zealand 2nd T20ILucknow7:00 PM
Wednesday/1 FebIndia vs New Zealand 3rd T20IAhmedabad7:00 PM

India’s Squad: Hardik Pandya (c), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Prithvi Shaw, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Deepak Hooda, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar.

New Zealand’s Squad: Mitchell Santner (c), Mark Chapman, Henry Shipley, Devon Conway (wk), Finn Allen, Dane Cleaver (wk), Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Michael Rippon, Michael Bracewell, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

ALSO READ: IND vs NZ Dream11 Prediction, 1st T20I: India vs New Zealand predicted playing XI, top fantasy picks, squads, Live Streaming Details