INDvsSL: Ruturaj Gaikwad ruled out of India vs Sri Lanka T20I series, Mayank Agarwal called in
PTI Photo

Ruturaj Gaikwad ruled out of India vs Sri Lanka T20I series, Mayank Agarwal called in as replacement: Young Indian batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the remainder of the India vs Sri Lanka T20I series owing to his wrist injury. As per the reports, Gaikwad complained of pain in his right wrist before the opening T20I following which he was rested from the playing11.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have roped in seasoned opener batsman Mayank Agarwal as the replacement for Gaikwad. 

The spokesperson of the Indian Cricket Board confirmed the development and said Ruturaj Gaikwad had some problems with his wrist and was in pain. The medical team of the BCCI is monitoring the cricketer.

“Ruturaj Gaikwad complained of pain in his right wrist, which is affecting his batting. He was unavailable for selection for the first T20I. The BCCI Medical Team is examining him,” said the spokesperson as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Another BCCI official said that the board was in complete control to send Mayank Agarwal as the replacement. Agarwal, who is named in India’s Test squad against Sri Lanka, was in Chandigarh, preparing for the red ball series with other Indian players. 

The seasoned opener made a bubble to bubble transfer from Chandigarh to Dharmshala, where the final two T20Is will be staged.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Groups and Format Revealed by the BCCI

“It was not difficult to send Agarwal in because it could easily be a bubble-to-bubble transfer. He was in Chandigarh and he was immediately rushed,” stated a source in the BCCI.

The second game of the three matches series will be held today (26th February) in the beautiful stadium of Himachal Pradesh. Both the contingents have arrived at the venue and underwent a couple of practice sessions.

As of now, team India stand tall with the lead of 1-0 in the three matches T20I series. India convincingly defeated Sri Lanka in the 1st T20I, held in Lucknow, by 62 runs.

Young batsman Ishan Kishan, who struggled big time in the West Indies series, opened his fire and scored 89 runs from 56 deliveries. Shreyas Iyer also contributed to the team’s success with his quickfire 57 from mere 28 balls.

Down below is India’s updated squad for the remainder of the T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Updated Squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (WK), Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Mayank Agarwal.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Dates, Schedule, Players, Teams, Matches, Groups, Formats, Captains, Venues All details