Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah features in Wisden’s top 5 Cricketers of the Year
Image Source: The Indian Express

Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah features in Wisden’s top 5 Cricketers of the Year: Indian all-format skipper Rohit Sharma along with bowling maestro Jasprit Bumrah have been named in Wisden’s top five cricketers of the year. The two Indian cricketers were among the five players who are picked in the 2022 edition’s Almanack.

Sharma played a phenomenal brand of cricket in the last year. The sensational batter scored over 1400 runs in 2021 of which the majority of runs came from the traditional format. Rohit had an exceptional summer in England where he amassed 368 runs in four tests. The Indian skipper also brought up his maiden overseas test century at the Oval.

Indian Pace spearhead played a pivotal role in India’s triumph against England, last year. Bumrah exploited the conditions on offer and helped India take a 2-1 lead.

Apart from Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah, Wisden named the likes of England pacer Ollie Robinson, New Zealand batter Devon Conway and South African women’s cricketer Dane van Niekerk.

England former skipper Joe Root, who amassed 1708 runs in the year 2021 at an impressive average of 60, has been named the leading cricketer of the year. Meanwhile, South Africa Lizelle Lee is named the leading women cricketer.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Points Table, Orange Cap, Purple Cap –Updated on 21 April

Besides, Pakistan stumper batter Mohammad Rizwan is awarded the title of leading T20 cricketer of the year. Rizwan had a stunning 2021 after he mustered record-breaking 1329 T20I runs in 27 games at a ridiculous average of 72.88. The Pakistani stumper batter is the only batter to score more than 1000 runs in T20I cricket in a calendar year.

Complete List of Wisden Cricketer of the Year:

  • Rohit Sharma – India
  • Jasprit Bumrah – India
  • Ollie Robinson – England
  • Devon Conway – New Zealand
  • Dane van Niekerk – South Africa

Wisden leading cricketer of the Year (Men): Joe Root (England)

Wisden leading Cricketer of the Year (Women): Lizelle Lee (South Africa)

Wisden’s leading T20I Cricketer of the Year: Mohammad Rizwan (Pakistan)

ALSO READ: CSK pacer Adam Milne ruled out of Tata IPL 2022, Matheesha Pathirana comes in as replacement