Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeCricket NewsIPL 2022:...

IPL 2022: Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022


Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022: The fifteenth season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is going to be the biggest IPL season ever. The league that has touched unparalleled feats in the past is set to witness another blockbuster year. The tournament has been expanded to ten teams and the mega auction is lined up ahead for the franchises to add more flavour.

The BCCI earlier introduced the world, IPL’s two new franchises in Lucknow and Ahmedabad. Both the teams will become functional from the coming IPL 2022. The RPSG owned Goenka group shelled out a whopping sum of INR 7090 Crores to own the Lucknow based IPL franchise while the CVC Capitals Partners gave INR 5625 Crores to own the rights of Ahmedabad based franchise.

Here in this article, we will take you through the recent updates of the Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches in the IPL 2022.

Update: Lucknow is all set to book KL Rahul, Marcus Stoinis and Ravi Bishnoi.

Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches Revealed in the IPL 2022:

Lucknow IPL team head coach:

IPL 2022: Andy Flower to be Lucknow IPL Franchises head coach in IPL 2022
Image Source: Sky Sports

The Sanjiv Goenka-owned franchise in the recent development confirmed the appointment of former Punjab Kings (PBKS) assistant coach Andy Flower as Lucknow’s head coach. Andy Flower has been roped in by the franchise for the coming season of the IPL. 

It is important to note that Flower has coached Punjab Kings, Saint Lucia Kings and Multan Sultans. Besides the franchise cricket, Andy Flower has also been associated with England in ICC T20 World Cup 2010.

“I am incredibly excited to be joining the new Lucknow franchise and I am very grateful for the opportunity. Since my very first tour to India in 1993, I have always loved touring, playing and coaching in India,” said Andy Flower.

Lucknow IPL Team Mentor – Gautam Gambhir

Gautam Gambhir IPL winner for KKR
Gautam Gambhir.

The RPSG owned Lucknow IPL team has roped in former Indian world cup winning cricketer Gautam Gambhir as the team mentor for the IPL 2022. Gambhir will work closely with the franchise in the advisory group. His records in international cricket for India are impeccable. In fact, he did exceedingly well in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

He spearheaded Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to its only two IPL titles in the year 2012 and 2014. His brilliant cricketing brain has been recognised by the franchise.

“I respect his [Gautam Gambhir] cricketing mind and look forward to working with him,” said the Lucknow franchise owner said in a statement after the cricketer was appointed team’s mentor on 18th December 2021.

Lucknow IPL team Players:

The sources close to the development have reported that the Lucknow based IPL team has already pinned down on their top three players. The franchise is pretty clear with its intentions and has finalised the players it wants for the coming season.

Captain: KL Rahul

Vivo IPL 2021: KL Rahul Hospitalised due to pain in his stomach, will miss a couple of games
IPL 2022: Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022 6

Karnataka stumper batsman KL Rahul is likely to join the Lucknow IPL team in the next season. Rahul is reportedly Lucknow’s number one choice to be the captain of the side. 

KL Rahul has already parted ways with Punjab Kings (PBKS). He was the skipper of PBKS but he couldn’t fetch good results for his team. He was sloppy with his tactics and failed to use his resources to their strength which the experts and cricket pundits pointed out.

However, the cricketer was fantastic with his batting abilities. His sheer consistency heaped praises from all around the world. He scored 626 runs in the IPL 2021, 670 runs in the IPL 2020 and 593 runs in the IPL 2019.

ALSO READ: BCCI rolls out blueprint for IPL 2022, Mega Auction date, New Franchise, Retention policy

Ishan Kishan:

Image Source: BCCI
IPL 2022: Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022 7

The Lucknow based IPL franchise is also looking to have young wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan on board. The Jharkhand batsman is certainly on Lucknow’s radar for the IPL 2022.

Ishan was earlier released by Mumbai Indians (MI) during the player retentions. Mumbai has shown a lot of faith in youngster during his stay at the franchise. Towards the end of IPL 2021, Ishan was preferred ahead of experienced Quinton de Kock and he flipped the outcome of what could have been a forgettable season for him with his late blitz innings at the opening slot.

Kishan loves to attack the bowler upfront. He has good hitting skills and can make use of the powerplay nicely. Moreover, he can fit in with KL Rahul at the opening position.

Kagiso Rabada:

Kagiso Rabada Delhi Capitals IPL 2021
IPL 2022: Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022 8

Following the selection of two domestic players, the rules say that Lucknow can now only sign an overseas player. South African pacer Kagiso Rabada is the most likeable option here for the franchise.

The experienced pacer got an axe from Delhi Capitals. DCC picked the likes of Anrich Nortje ahead of Rabada. 

Kagiso Rabada can help in strengthening Lucknow’s bowling unit. He can spearhead the attack with other bowlers. The pacer wasn’t effective in the IPL 2021. He could only pick 15 wickets from as many matches. However, his records in the IPL 2020 and IPL 2019 speaks volumes of his skills and abilities. 

The seasoned campaigner scalped 30 and 25 wickets in the IPL 2020 and IPL 2019 respectively. He was even the Orange cap winner in the IPL 2020.

Few Other Player Options for the Lucknow IPL team are:

Shikhar Dhawan,

Ben Stokes,

David Warner,

Shreyas Iyer, and 

Yuzvendra Chahal.

Here is the complete list of the players Lucknow Super Giants so far secured

PlayerRolePrice(In Crores)
KL RahulBatsmanINR 17 Cr
Marcus StoinisAll-rounderINR 9.2 Cr
Ravi BishnoiBowlerINR 4 Cr
Quinton de KockSA2 crore6.75 crore
Manish PandeyIndia1 crore4.6 crore
Jason HolderWI1.5 crore8.75 crore
Deepak HoodaIndia75 lakh5.75 crore
Krunal PandyaIndia2 crore8.25 crore
Mark WoodEngland2 crore7.5 crore
Avesh KhanIndia20 lakh10 crore
Ankit Singh RajpootIndia20 lakh50 lakh

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction Details, 10 IPL Teams, New Rules: All you need to know

Bookmarked post
Mohit Tiwari
Mohit Tiwarihttps://www.icccricketschedule.com/
Mohit is an experienced author at ICC Cricket Schedule, with a wealth of knowledge spanning 5 years. He specializes in crafting articles on various aspects of cricket, including news updates, fantasy cricket tips, statistical analysis, and insightful commentary.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS