IPL 2024 Points Table after SRH vs RCB [April 26]: Team’s Standings after Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers Bengaluru
Image: ESPNcricinfo

IPL 2024 Points Table: Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) have flipped the tables as they defeated the Pat Cummins-led Sunrisers Hyderabad by 35 runs at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium. In spite of the victory, RCB remains at the bottom of the IPL 2024 Points Table, however, they have certainly imporved their net run rate and the rating points.

What most teams failed to do in the ongoing season of the Indian Premier League (IPL), RCB have successfuly achieved it on Thursday. RCB has toppled the orange flag flying high in the sky with their superb performance in match number 41 of the TATA IPL 2024.

Moreover, RCB has managed to snap their six match losing streak in the season, which is an encouraging sign for them.

RCB began with a bang as the two designated openers added 48 runs in the first four overs. But SRH was quick to change their tactics and removed Faf du Plessis (25 off 12) and Will Jacks quite early on in the innings.

Rajat Patidar, who has been bestowed with the middle-order responsibility, turned up beautifully as he played a fiery 20-ball 50 run knock, with Virat Kohli playing second fiddle to him.

However, SRH once again struck as Jaydev Unadkat picked dangerous Patidar. Soon he picked the wicket of Virat Kohli (51 off 43 balls), to reduce RCB to 140 runs in four wickets.

While Cameron Green tried to accelerate the run-rate with his handy 37 runs knock at one end, the other end had wickets falling aplenty consistently. Eventually, RCB managed to post 206 runs in their 20 overs after losing six wickets.

Unlike their last few games, SRH lost Travis Head in the first over of the innings, and RCB heaved a sigh of relief. Soon, Bengaluru got Abhishek Sharma and Aiden Markram as well inside the powerplay.

Though Abhishek scored a blitz 13-ball 31-run knock, he didn’t last long to provide enough cushion to his side.

By this time, the RCB bowlers were on fire as they kept putting pressure on the SRH. Karn Sharma and Swapnil Singh in the next few overs dismissed Nitish Reddy and Heinrich Klaasen as well, and it marked the end of SRH’s batting powerhouse, that had scored the bulk of runs for the team so far.

Shahbaz Ahmed, though, continued his good form and added 40 runs to the team’s total, but he didn’t get enough support from his teammates from the other end.

Eventually the SRH’s bandwagon was restricted to 171 runs in 20 overs in the loss of 8 wickets and RCB got over the line with 35 runs.

IPL 2024 Updated Points Table

RCB defeated SRH by 35 runs in Hyderabad | Image: IPLT20

Notably, the SRH vs RCB game didn’t brought any positional change in the IPL 2024 Points Table. RCB was at the bottom of the points table, they remain there. SRH was placed third in the rankings, they too have retained their spot.

However, there is a significant impact in the net run rate and rating points. RCB has got two rating points and also improved their net run rate. On the other side, SRH lost a chance to add two more points and jump past KKR in the IPL 2024 Points Table.

SRH is currently placed third in the updated points table with 10 points from eight matches. They have five wins and three losses so far.

RCB has just two wins and seven losses in their nine outings in the IPL 2024.

Rajasthan Royals (RR), still, leads the way forward in the IPL 2024 with an unassailable 14 points from just eight matches. They are four points ahead of the second ranked team – Kolkata Knight Riders.

Below is the complete IPL 2024 Updated Points Table after SRH vs RCB fixture:

1Rajasthan Royals8710140.698
2Kolkata Knight Riders7520101.206
3Sunrisers Hyderabad8530100.577
4Lucknow Super Giants8530100.148
5Chennai Super Kings844080.415
6Delhi Capitals94508-0.386
7Gujarat Titans94508-0.974
8Mumbai Indians83506-0.227
9Punjab Kings82604-0.292
10Royal Challengers Bengaluru92704-0.721
*IPL 2024 Points Table.

ALSO READ: KKR vs PBKS: Eden Gardens Stadium Pitch Report, Weather Forecast for IPL 2024, IPL Records