IPL 2024 Auction: CSK Retained & Released Player List [Updated], Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2024
Image: IPLT20

CSK Retained & Released Player List [Updated], Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2024: Legendary captain MS Dhoni led his yellow army to the record fifth IPL title victory in the recently held IPL 2023. The side with their triumph in the IPL 2023, equalled Mumbai Indians’ (MI) record of holding the most number of titles in the history of the Indian Premier League.

The season that was considered MS Dhoni’s last dance, had several big moments for the team, besides a few hiccups that came their way. The IPL 2023 saw the comeback of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK), who finished in the penultimate position in the IPL 2022. It was revenge for all those embarrassing moments that unfolded during their awful run.

CSK had a decent mix of youth and veteran cricketers in their contingent. The management did well to bag a few young players during the auction, which later showed their worth in gold.

The likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway and Shivam Dube in the batting order were massive hits for CSK. On the bowling front, young Tushar Deshpande proved his mettled besides Deepak Chahar repaying for the faith shown by CSK in retaining him.

In the upcoming season, CSK shall defend their title and it would be paramount for them to rearrange the right players to get the job done. A major part of CSK’s strategy for the IPL 2024 will be revealed with their retained & released player list.

CSK Retained Player List [Updated] for IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Auction: CSK Retained & Released Player List [Updated], Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2024
IPL 2023: CSK won by 6 wickets | Image Credit: Twitter

Most of the players from CSK’s campaign in IPL 2023 will get retention from the franchise. The likes of Ruturaj Gaikwad, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Deepak Chahar and Tushar Deshpande among others will be retained.

Reportedly, CSK is likely to release, though reluctantly, all-rounder Ben Stokes ahead of the IPL 2024 Auction due to his fitness concerns and possible unavailability during the next season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). With the release of Stokes, CSK will free up its INR 16.25 Crores of funds.

Below is the list of retained players by CSK ahead of the IPL 2024 Auction:

PlayerRolePrice (INR)Country
MS DhoniWicketkeeper12 CrIndia
Ravindra JadejaAll-Rounder16 CrIndia
Devon ConwayBatter1 CrNew Zealand
Ruturaj GaikwadBatter6 CrIndia
Deepak ChaharBowler14 CrIndia
Moeen AliAll-Rounder8 CrEngland
Mitchell SantnerAll-Rounder1.9 CrNew Zealand
Ajinkya RahaneBatterIndia
Rajvardhan HangargekarBowler1.5 CrIndia
Ajay MandalAll-Rounder20 LakhsIndia
Shivam DubeAll-Rounder4 CrIndia
Dwaine PretoriusAll-Rounder50 LakhsSouth Africa
Bhagath VarmaAll-Rounder20 LakhsIndia
Nishant SindhuAll-Rounder60 LakhsIndia
Prashant SolankiBowler1.2 CrIndia
Tushar DeshpandeBowler20 LakhsIndia
Akash SinghBowler20 LakhsIndia
Matheesha PathiranaBowler20 LakhsSri Lanka
Maheesh TheekshanaBowler70 LakhsSri Lanka
Subranshu SenapatiBatter20 LakhsIndia
*This is a tentative list.

CSK Released Players List [Updated] for IPL 2024

IPL 2024 Auction: CSK Retained & Released Player List [Updated], Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2024
Image Source: Twitter

In the likely release, New Zealand’s lanky all-rounder Kyle Jamieson is set for the oust from the franchise ahead of the IPL 2024. He is likely to be one of the five players to be released by the Chennai Super Kings.

The other players on the list are South Africa’s Sisanda Magala, Simranjeet Singh, Sheikh Rasheed and Ambati Rayudu. Notably, Rayudu has already taken a retirement from the Indian Premier League (IPL), hence he will no longer be retained by the franchise.

Below is the list of released players by CSK ahead of IPL 2024:

PlayerRolePrice (INR)Country
Ben StokesAll-Rounder16.25 CrEngland
Kyle JamiesonAll-Rounder1 CrNew Zealand
Simranjeet SinghBowler20 LakhIndia
Shiekh RasheedBatter20 LakhsIndia
Sisanda MagalaBowler50 LakhsSouth Africa
Ambati RayuduBatter6.75 CrIndia
*This is a tentative list.

Chennai Super Kings Squad for IPL 2024

MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chowdhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Deepak Chahar, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Nishant Sindhu, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma.

ALSO READ: Mumbai Indians Retained & Released Player List [Updated] for IPL 2024, MI Squad for IPL 2024

For More, Check The Official SiteIPLT20