India vs Sri Lanka Test: schedule, squads, match timings, telecast and live streaming details
Image: BCCI

India seals two matches Test series against New Zealand by a comprehensive win in 2nd test.

India vs New Zealand 2nd Test Match: Team India under the leadership of Virat Kohli secures another blistering test series win as they comprehensively defeated New Zealand in the second test match in Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium to bag the two matches series by 1-nil. 

The second test match ended on the fourth day as India picked up five crucial wickets inside the first session to conclude the test match. Jayant Yadav remained the pick of the bowlers on day 4 as he scalped four successive wickets.

India hammered New Zealand in the second test by a massive 372 runs after the late draw to the first test match in Kanpur. With the win, India extended its unparalleled dominance in its own backyard with 14 consecutive home test series win.

India posted a total of 325 runs after opting to bat first in the 2nd test match. Mayank Agarwal scored a crafty century (150) while Shubman Gill (44) and Axar Patel (52) remained the other two top contributors.

New Zealand spinner Ajaz Patel wrote his name in history books as he picked all 10 wickets in India’s first innings. Patel numbers remained sensational (47.5 overs – 119 runs – 10 wickets).

In pursuit of 325 runs, New Zealand slipped down to a total of 62 in the loss of 10 wickets. Indian bowlers, starting off with Mohammad Siraj followed by Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel, never gave an opportunity to kiwis to take off their innings. 

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction Details, 10 IPL Teams, New Rules: All you need to know

India bundled out New Zealand for 62 runs in the second innings. Siraj picked three initial wickets while R Ashwin scalped four, Axar got three and Jayant Yadav got one to his account.

The hosts didn’t enforce a follow on despite having a healthy lead of 263 runs. India came to bat in the third innings and piled up its lead to a massive 540 runs. In the third innings, India scored 276 runs before declaring the innings. 

The top contributors were Mayank Agarwal (62 runs), Cheteshwar Pujara (47 runs), Shubman Gill (47 runs), Axar Patel (41 runs) and Virat Kohli (36 runs).

Kiwi spinners Ajaz Patel scalped four wickets in India’s second innings while Rachin Ravindra uprooted three.

In the chase of the mammoth total of 540 runs New Zealand could only score 167 runs. Once again India struck in the opening spell sending back their stand-in skipper Tom Latham. 

None of the kiwis, except Daryl Mitchell and Henry Nicholls, could handle the intense spin-web from Indian tweakers. Mitchell scored 60 before bowing down with a poor shot against Axar Patel while Nicholls  (44 runs) was the last man to get dismissed.

Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Jayant Yadav picked four wickets each while Axar Patel got on to his bag.

Mayank Agarwal is adjudged as the ‘Player of the Match’ for his valuable efforts with the bat. He scored 150 in the first innings and 62 in the second innings.

ALSO READ: Selectors to discuss Virat Kohli’s ODI captaincy fate in the selection meeting of India tour of South Africa