IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Match on the knife edge| Day 3| Review, Scorecard
IND vs BAN: Mohammed Siraj reacts after dismissing Litton Das (BCCI)

IND vs BAN 2nd Test: The third day of a Test match is often called the Moving day, and so for a cause. A day that was crucial for both sides and left its mark. Since Bangladesh and India, both have an equivalent opportunity of winning, the game is currently hanging on the knife edge.

Bangladesh fought back, and when they fought back, this is what happens. India found themself in between hurdles. Four wickets went down, they are still 100 runs away from stealing the test match. India was in the driving seat the last evening but look at the equation right now, India is 100 runs behind the target and 4 wickets down already, and you will definitely find India in some trouble.

Bangladesh staged a fine comeback in their second innings to set India a target of 145 to win the Dhaka Test and complete a 2–0 series sweep. Without any further ado, let’s go straight to the review of day 3:

DON’T MISS: DC IPL Player List 2023: Complete Delhi Capitals Squad for IPL 2023

IND vs BAN: 2nd Test | Day 3 | Review

India warmly welcomed the hosts with a wicket of Santo in the very second over of the day, and Mominul followed shortly. Throughout the day, Indian bowlers maintained a high level of discipline and precision, which helped them to take wickets at regular intervals. 

Bangladesh, who were struggling at 113 for 6 at one point, were bowled out for 231 after batting 70.2 overs, with Litton Das leading the way with 73. Bangladesh was at 159 for 7 when he and Taskin Ahmed joined forces for the eighth wicket, and they contributed 60 runs to give Bangladesh a chance.

IND vs BAN| 2nd Test: Match on the knife edge| Day 3| Review, Scorecard
IND vs BAN: Mohammed Siraj gestures after dismissing Litton Das

Mohammed Siraj eventually broke the resistance when he got one to nip back sharply at Litton and clipped the top of the leg stump. Shortly after Litton was out, R Ashwin had Taijul Islam out by LBW, and then Khaled Ahmed ran out to end the inning. On the third afternoon, India have approximately 23 overs left to bat.

India made some errors on the field. Virat Kohli was especially bad, dropping three opportunities at the slip. However, their bowling was effective, with Axar Patel collecting three wickets, and Ashwin and Siraj taking two each.

Team India’s start to batting also looked sloppy. Dropped on Zero and out on 2, Skipper KL Rahul’s poor form continued as he became Shakib’s prey. He has disappointed the Indian fans with the bat throughout the tour. As soon as KL Rahul was dismissed for just 2 runs, Cheteshwar Pujara also followed him. Mehidy Hasan Miraz is holding the ball in his hand and the ball is gripping the surface so he becomes the most dangerous Bangladeshi bowler in such situations and he displayed so.

IND vs BAN: Typical Kohli dismissal to off-spin, Mominul took a sharp catch. (Twitter)

Mehidy took the breeze and took the wicket of Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, and Virat Kohli towards the end. Kohli had a word with Shakib, looked like it was regarding one of the players saying something and all of a sudden India were 37 for 4 wickets down. Jaydev Unadkat walked in as ‘Night hawk‘ with Axar and India were 45/4 at the Stumps of Day 3.

India need 100 runs more to win with Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer yet to bat and Bangladesh need 6 wickets to win the 2nd Test match of IND vs BAN.

IND vs BAN: 2nd Test | Day 2| Scorecard

Bangladesh 1st Innings -227/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Ashwin24573042.10
Zakir Hasan c Rahul b Unadkat15341044.11
Mominul Haque c Pant b Ashwin8415712153.50
Shakib Al Hasan (c)c Pujara b Yadav16391141.02
Mushfiqur Rahim c Pant b Unadkat26465056.52
Litton Das c Rahul b Ashwin25262196.15
Mehidy Hasan Miraz c Pant b Yadav15513029.41
Nurul Hasan lbw b Yadav6130046.15
Taskin Ahmed c Mohammed Siraj b Yadav116006.25
Taijul Islam not out4210200.00
Khaled Ahmed c Unadkat b Ashwin02000.00
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Mohammed Siraj913904.33
Umesh Yadav1542541.66
Jaydev Unadkat1625023.12
Ravichandran Ashwin21.537143.25
Axar Patel1233202.66
IND vs BAN Scorecard

India 1st Innings -314/10

KL Rahul (c)lbw b Taijul Islam10451022.22
Shubman Gill lbw b Taijul Islam20391151.28
Cheteshwar Pujara c Mominul Haque b Taijul Islam24552043.63
Virat Kohli c Nurul Hasan b Taskin Ahmed24733032.87
Rishabh Pant c Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz931047589.42
Shreyas Iyer lbw b Shakib Al Hasan8710510282.85
Axar Patel c Najmul Hossain Shanto b Shakib Al Hasan4111036.36
Ravichandran Ashwin lbw b Shakib Al Hasan12302040.00
Jaydev Unadkat not out14322043.75
Umesh Yadav c Litton Das b Taijul Islam141330107.69
Mohammed Siraj st Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan7151046.66
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Taskin Ahmed1525813.86
Shakib Al Hasan19.337944.05
Khaled Ahmed1014104.10
Taijul Islam2537442.96
Mehidy Hasan Miraz1726113.58
IND vs BAN Scorecard

Bangladesh 2nd Innings – 231/10

Najmul Hossain Shanto lbw b Ashwin5311016.12
Zakir Hasan c Siraj b Yadav511355037.77
Mominul Haque c Pant b Siraj591055.55
Shakib Al Hasan(c)c Shubman Gill b Unadkat13361036.11
Mushfiqur Rahim lbw b Patel9190047.36
Litton Das b Siraj73987074.48
Mehidy Hasan Miraz lbw b Patel05000.00
Nurul Hasan st Pant b Patel312921106.89
Taskin Ahmed not out31464067.39
Taijul Islam lbw b Ashwin150020.00
Khaled Ahmed run out (Shubman Gill/Patel)491044.44
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Umesh Yadav913213.55
Ravichandran Ashwin2226623.00
Jaydev Unadkat931711.88
Mohammed Siraj1104123.72
Axar Patel19.216833.51
IND vs BAN Scorecard

India 2nd Innings- 45/4 (T: 145 runs)

Shubman Gill st Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz7350020.00
KL Rahul (c)c Nurul Hasan b Shakib Al Hasan270028.57
Cheteshwar Pujara st Nurul Hasan b Mehidy Hasan Miraz6121050.00
Axar Patel not out26543048.14
Virat Kohli c Mominul Haque b Mehidy Hasan Miraz122004.54
Jaydev Unadkat not out380037.50
IND vs BAN Scorecard
Shakib Al Hasan602113.50
Taijul Islam84801.00
Mehidy Hasan Miraz831231.50
Taskin Ahmed10404.00
IND vs BAN Scorecard

READ: RCB IPL Player List 2023: Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad for IPL 2023

Visit ICC CRICKET SCHEDULE for more cricketing updates.