Ruturaj Gaikwad {PC:X}

India batter Ruturaj Gaikwad is on the verge of breaking the massive record of Virat Kohli in the T20I bilateral. The batter is just 18 runs away from becoming the Indian player to score the most runs in the T20I series, which currently is Kohli with 231 runs. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad is expected to achieve the feat in the next IND vs AUS game. The last match of the series is slated to take place on Sunday (3rd December) in Bengaluru. India has already sealed the series and is currently leading with 3-1. 

With the way Ruturaj Gaikwad has been batting in the ongoing IND vs AUS, it’s fair to say that he can easily break Virat Kohli’s record. The opening batter has set the stage on fire after bagging a diamond duck in the first game. In the second match, he smashed a vital century and then followed it with a brutal ton in the third game. 

Also Read: Rohit Sharma to captain India in T20 World Cup 2024; Asks BCCI to make a straightforward call on the captaincy – Reports

Ruturaj Gaikwad came up with another handy knock in the 4th game that helped India seal the series. With the kind of display that he has shown in the series, it’s fair to say that he has sent a strong message to selectors ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad has played his role to perfection in the IND vs AUS series and would be hoping to end the series on high and set a record. His staggering performances have seen him getting selected for the South Africa tour in all three formats. 

In the 4 games so far in the series, Ruturaj Gaikwad has slammed 213 runs. He also has 1 century and a half-century to his name. The batter would be hoping to play another big knock in the last game and would be backing himself to end the series on high. 

IND vs AUS: Most runs in a T20I bilateral series for India 

Surya Kumar Yadav and Ruturaj Gaikwad
Surya Kumar Yadav and Ruturaj Gaikwad | Pic: X (BCCI)

IND vs AUS: Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs in a T20I bilateral series for India. He slammed 231 runs against England at home in 2021. He’s followed by KL Rahul, who smashed 224 against New Zealand in 2020. Ruturaj Gaikwad is third with 213* runs for his name so far. 

Most runs in a T20I bilateral series for India 

Virat Kohli – 231 runs vs England in 2021
KL Rahul – 224 runs vs New Zealand in 2022 
Ruturaj Gaikwad – 213* runs vs Australia in 2023