Sunday, June 23, 2024

ICC WTC Final: Ravi Shastri picks his combined India-Australia playing XI for WTC Final; leaves out R Ashwin


ICC WTC Final: The focus is slightly moving towards the ICC World Test Championship Final. India and Australia will cross swords with each other in the final of the Test Championship and it’s fair to say that both the teams will be eager to lift the trophy. The event will take place at Oval England from the 7th to the 11th of June. 

ICC WTC Final: Ravi Shastri picks his combined India-Australia playing XI for WTC Final; leaves out R Ashwin

IPL 2022: Ravi Shastri opens up on his IPL Franchise coaching prospects in the IPL 2022
Image Source: Twitter

ICC WTC Final: With World Test Championship final around the corner, former Indian head coach Ravi Shastri has named his combined India-Australia playing XI. He chooses Rohit Sharma as skipper over Pat Cummins. The Indian captain will open the innings alongside Usman Khawaja ahead of in-form Shubman Gill. 

At No.3 Ravi Shastri choose Marnus Labuschagne, who was followed by Virat Kohli and Steve Smith at No.4 and No.5 respectively. He backed these three in his combined XI because of what they have been doing for so long for their respective teams. Alex Carey is the wicketkeeper in his side. 

At No.6, he opted for Ravindra Jadeja and left out Cameron Green, saying that the Indian all-rounder is the best in the team. However, what caught the attention of many was he left out R Ashwin from the team and picked Nathan Lyon in his place because of the overseas record. 

Ravi Shastri then picked a formidable pace attack. Pat Cummins was the first-choice pacer in his team. He then picked India’s Mohammad Shami and was left confused between Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood. However, due to the left-arm angle, Starc managed a place in his team. 

Read Also: IPL 2023: Ranking All IPL 10 Teams Based on Their Potential set of Allrounders

Here’s Ravi Shastri’s combined India-Australia Test XI: 

Rohit Sharma (c), Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Mohammad Shami

ICC WTC Final: Indian and Australia squad for the ICC WTC Final

ICC WTC Final: Winner of WTC Final to get INR 11.72 Crores, Runner-Up to get INR 5.86 Crores, says ICC
ICC WTC Final: Ravi Shastri picks his combined India-Australia playing XI for WTC Final; leaves out R Ashwin 3

Here’s the Indian squad for the WTC Final 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishan Kishan, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Here’s the Australian squad for the WTC Final 

Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

Bookmarked post
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh
Ankitjit Singh has 3+ years of experience in producing cricket articles. His expertise extends to cricket news, match analysis and fantasy cricket tips, providing valuable insights to fans around the world.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS