Sunday, June 23, 2024

ICC WTC Final 2023 India’s Squad against Australia – Prediction


ICC WTC Final 2023 India’s Final Squad against Australia: The opponents for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) Final 2023 are locked up as we will see a rematch between India and Australia on the world stage. The two teams will lock horns at Kennington Oval in London from June 7 to get crowned as the World Test Champions for the year 2023.

Australia sealed its position in the ICC WTC Final by defeating India in the 3rd test of the recently completed Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023. The Aussies finished their test run from 2021-23 atop the ICC WTC points table with a 66.67 win percentage.

Meanwhile, India managed to cross the barrier after retaining the Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023 and with a little help from New Zealand, who defeated Sri Lanka in the NZ vs SL 1st test. India’s purple run in the BGT 2023 helped them to remain second to the Australian side in the ICC WTC 2023 Points Table.

Now that we have got both of our finalists, let’s have a look at ICC WTC Final 2023 India’s squad against Australia – Prediction.

ICC WTC Final 2023 India’s Final Squad

Openers – Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill

Captain Rohit Sharma has loved the company of Shubman Gill in the recent past. The two have provided India with some solid starts and partnerships. Rohit has been a different batter in the tests ever since he started opening the innings. He has looked more assured and worked his way out to tackle his woes. On the other side, Shubman Gill has taken the world by storm. He has been scoring runs for the team and has even registered three format centuries recently.

ICC WTC Final 2023 India's Squad against Australia - Prediction
Photo Credit: AP

Middle Order – Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer/Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), KL Rahul (wk)

The likes of Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer/Suryakumar Yadav will form the Indian middle order. While Pujara has managed to score 140 runs in 4 test matches in 2023, Virat Kohli slammed a century to shut his critics. In the recently held Border Gavaskar Trophy, Virat Kohli remained one of the top run-scorers with 297 runs from 4 matches.

Shreyas Iyer would be the ideal choice at number 5 for India, but, there are high chances that the batter could get rule out of the WTC Final 2023 due to his back injury. In such case, Suryakumar Yadav can replace him in the team.

Team India can carry two wicketkeeper – KS Bharat & KL Rahul – for the ICC WTC Final 2023. Young KS Bharat was given a long rope in the recently held BGT 2023, however, the glovesman couldn’t cement his place in the team. In 6 test innings, Bharat has only managed to score 101 runs at a poor average of 20.20.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul could be other wicketkeeping option. India will require the services of KL Rahul in England. Keeping in mind how KL Rahul performed in the previous England tour, he will be a crucial player for the Indian team.

ICC WTC Final 2023 India's Squad against Australia - Prediction
Image: BCCI

All-Rounders – Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur

Although India would love to have pace bowling all-rounders in England, but, unfortunately, there aren’t many options available right now. The likes of Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and R Ashwin are all spinners, who can bat. Only Shardul Thakur is the pace bowling all-rounder available. Interestingly, Hardik Pandya can become a surprise inclusion in the team, however, he recently denied featuring in the test format.

Bowlers – Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami, Umesh Yadav

The bowling unit of the Indian team include – Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Siraj, Mohamamd Shami and Umesh Yadav. Unfortunately, Jasprit Bumrah won’t be available to aid the Indian team in England this time. The pacer has recently undergone a back surgery to cure his long persisting injury.

ICC WTC Final 2023 India’s Final Squad:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, KL Rahul (wk), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer/Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav.

ALSO READ: Josh Hazlewood becomes NO 1 ODI Bowler, Siraj slips down – ICC ODI Ranking Updated

To know more head to BCCI’s official website.

Bookmarked post
ICS News Desk
ICS News Desk
News Desk reports - ICC Cricket Schedule Team.

Related Articles

Latest Cricket NEWS