ICC T20 World Cup

The ICC T20 World Cup is an event that is loved by all. This format of the sport makes the game electrifying and sexy. The sport has evolved rapidly ever since the introduction of this format. Cricket has seen a growth in the standard of fielding, batting, and even bowling due to T20s. We today, see Jasprit Bumrah taking wickets of the slower balls in red-ball cricket. So, when did all this begin and how has it grown over the years? Who were the first champions and the champions of T20Is over the years? Here is an in-depth look at the same: 

India Won the first-ever ICC T20 World Cup in 2007: 

ICC T20 World cup

The inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup was held in 2007. The tournament was won by underdogs India. It was supremely eventful for the men in blue. The year 2007 began with a thrashing loss at the ICC ODI World Cup. All the senior players like Sachin, Ganguly, Kumble, and Dravid had decided to not play the T20I format. A team of fresh players with a fresh leader was chosen.  

This young brigade won the tournament! The tournament saw the ball-out between India and Pakistan, the washout between India and Scotland, Yuvraj Singh hitting six 6s of Stuart Broad, and Joginder Sharma winning India the world cup. The team had a good ix of youth and experience. They had Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, and also fresher players like Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, and many more.  

Indian Team of the 2007 ICC T20 World Cup: 

Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh(VC), MS Dhoni(C), Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, Ajit Agarkar, Sreesanth, RP Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan.  

Pakistan Won the 2009 ICC T20 World Cup: 

The Pakistan team was on a roll in 2009. The team went to England and got their hands on their well-deserved T20 World Cup trophy. Kamran Akmal and Shahid Afridi were their top players with the bat. They played with a strike rate of 140+. Shahid Afridi was also on the chart of the top wicket-takers. Umar Gul ended up as the highest wicket-taker of that tournament. Saeed Ajmal also dominated the tournament.  

Pakistan Team Which Won the World Cup in 2009: 


Younis Khan(C), Misbah-Ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Ahmed Shahzad, Shahid Afridi, Fawad Alam, Iftikar Anjum, Salman Butt, Mohammad Amir, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanveer, Kamran Akmal, Umar Gul, Shoaib Malik, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahzaib Hasan.   

England won the 2010 ICC T20 World Cup: 

The English team won the third edition of the T20 World Cup. It was an away tournament for them. Graeme Swann was their top performer with the ball. It was a cumulative team performance by them. When the time came the senior players from the English team stepped up. Kevin Pietersen was in hot form.  

England Team to win the 2010 World Cup: 

Paul Collingwood, Ravi Bopara, James Anderson, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy.  

2012 ICC T20 World Cup was won by the West Indies: 

This tournament was held in Bangladesh. India got knocked out even before the semi-finals. They were kicked out by South Africa. The final was a conquest between Sri Lanka and West Indies. Marlon Samuels came to the rescue of the West Indies batting. He played a fighting knock in the final. He slowly took the game away from the Sri Lankans.  

The West Indies team had a good time at that World Cup. The Universe Boss, Chris Gayle, and Marlon Samuels were the top performers with the willow. While Sunil Narine and Ravi Rampaul took care of the bowling.  

Here is a look at the West Indies team that won the T20 World Cup in 2012: 

Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Darren Sammy (capt), Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith. 

The 2014 ICC T20 World Cup was won by Sri Lanka: 

The 2014 ICC T20 World Cup saw the emergence of a beast called Virat Kohli. Kohli was the lone warrior in almost every game that India played. On the other hand, the Sri Lankans were playing for a cause. The cause was to give an ideal farewell to their sensational players. Mahela Jayawardena and Kumar Sangakkara are Sri Lankan legends and they had never got their hands on the World Cup before 2014.  

Sri Lanka ICC T20 World Cup

The top performers for Sri Lanka were Mahela Jayawardena and Nuwan Kulasekara. But it was more of a cumulative team effort. The team is as follows: 

Mahela Jayawardena, Kumar Sangakkara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Thisara Parera, TM Dilshan, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Matthews, Rangana Herath, Kusal Parera, Ajantha Mendis, Sachitra Senanayake, Lahiru Thirimanne, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal, Chaturanga De Silva, Seekuge Prasanna. 

2016 ICC T20 World Cup was won by the West Indies: 

West Indies ICC T20 World Cup
IMG SRC: The Indian Express

The 2016 West Indies team was different gravy. It had a sensational Superstar. The team was always going to be a top contender. They had a huge lineup of T20 specialists. The lineup started with the Universe Boss, then it had Marlon Samuels, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, and Darren Sammy! Samuel Badree was spinning the ball like a wizard! The senior players stepped up in the big matches.  

In the game against England where the West Indies had limited scope, Chris Gayle scored a hundred in 42 balls! In the game against India, Andre Russell and Lendl Simmons took the game away. In the final against England, one cannot forget the iconic commentary by Ian Bishop. “Carlos Braithwaite, Carlos Braithwaite, Remember the Name!”. Carlos slammed 4 consecutive 6s to seal the deal for the men in maroon! 

West Indies Team for World Cup 2016: 

Darren Sammy (capt), Chris Gayle, Johnson Charles, Marlon Samuels, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Jason Holder, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Samuel Badree. 

2021 ICC T20 World Cup was won by Australia: 

The 2021 T20 World Cup in the UAE was marred by poor pitches but the Australian team made effective use of the pitches. The team was chosen very precisely. David Warner was coming from a dreadful IPL 2021 but the Australian team backed him and Warner delivered. He was named “Man of the Tournament”. 

ICC T20 World Cup
IMG SRC: The Indian Express

When it mattered the most players like Steve Smith and Mitchell Marsh stepped up and took responsibility. When the time was tough, Matthew Wade and his experience came to the rescue. Josh Hazlewood was a different gravy with the leather in hand. 

Australian Squad for World Cup 2021: 

Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade (wk), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Josh Inglis, Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis and Daniel Sams. 

To know more go to TATA IPL 2023: 5 Players Who Can Dominate Next Season of the IPL. 

Read more such articles at ICC T20 World Cup: Top 10 Batters to Watch Out for. Star Batters. 

To know more go to ICC T20 World Cup 2022: Top 5 Fast Bowlers to Watch Out for. 

Read more such articles at ICC T20 World Cup: Top 5 All-Rounders to Watch Out For. 

To know more go to the official website of the T20 World Cup.