Ashes 2021-22: England and Australia announce playing11 for 3rd Ashes Test Match
Image Source: twitter

England and Australia announce playing11 for 3rd Ashes Test Match: England and Australia have announced their playing11 for the Boxing Day 3rd Ashes Test Match, starting 26th December. Hosts, Australia have dismantled the English team in the first two test matches held in Brisbane and Adelaide.

The third test between Australia and England will be played at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

England have made four changes to their squad after the two initial losses against Australia. Opener Rory Burns, who have only managed to score 52 runs in the two test matches, has been replaced by Zak Crawley.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow has been brought back replacing Ollie Pope. All-rounder Chris Woakes and Stuart Broad have been benched to make a way for Mark Wood and spinner Jack Leach.

Woakes scored a healthy 105 runs at an average of 26.25 but his poor bowling has disappointed him. The all-rounder has managed to pick just three wickets in the first two Ashes Tests. 

England have brought spinner Jack Leach for Stuart Broad. The visitors went with an all pace attack in the last Day/Night test match which apparently didn’t go well.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Lucknow IPL team Players, Coaches, Details Revealed in the IPL 2022

Australian Skipper Pat Cummins comes back to the side:

On the other side, Australia have made two changes to their daunting test playing11 ahead of the 3rd test. 

The Aussies have bolstered their playing11 with the return of their test skipper Pat Cummins, who missed the second match after coming in close contact with a covid-positive individual.

Cummins will replace Michael Nesser in the playing11. Moreover, Jhye Richardson has been injured as he pulled up sore after bowling 38 overs in the last test. He picked a fifer in the second innings.

Richardson will be replaced by the right-armer Scott Boland, who will make his test debut in front of his home crowd.

England Playing11 for Boxing Day 3rd Test:

Haseeb Hameed, Zak Crawley, Dawid Malan, Joe Root (c), Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler (wk), Mark Wood, Ollie Robinson, Jack Leach, James Anderson.

Australia Playing11 for Boxing Day 3rd Test:

David Warner, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (capt), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Scott Boland

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction Details, 10 IPL Teams, New Rules: All you need to know