Vivo IPL 2021 PBKS vs DC: Delhi Capitals (DC) clinches seven wickets win over PBKS, moves top of the Points table

Vivo IPL 2021 PBKS vs DC: Delhi Capitals (DC) clinches seven wickets win over PBKS, moves top of the Points table

Vivo IPL 2021 PBKS vs DC: Delhi Capitals (DC) clinches seven wickets win over PBKS, moves top of the Points table.

Vivo IPL 2021: Rishabh Pant led Delhi Capitals (DC) in the second game of the double-header on Sunday cleans-up Punjab Kings (PBKS) by seven wickets to move to the top of the points table with six wins and 12 points.

DC batters chased down the target of 167 with seven wickets in hand and 2.2 overs to spare. Shikhar Dhawan remained unbeaten at 69.

Chasing 167, DC got off to a brisk start with openers Prithvi Shaw and Shikhar Dhawan scoring quick runs in the powerplay. Both the batsmen scored 63 runs in the first six overs with a run rate of over 10.

Harpreet Brar provided the much-needed breakthrough as dangerous looking Prithvi Shaw returned in the very next delivery of the powerplay. Shaw creamed 39 runs off 22 with three fours and as many sixes.

The new-men in Steve Smith played some impressive shots along with Shikhar Dhawan at the other end. Both of them took DC to 87/1 at the end of 10 overs.

Smith after getting settled in the crease, was dismissed by Reiley Meredith in the 13th over. While Shikhar Dhawan at the other end continued his golden run and brought up his third half-century of the Vivo IPL 2021 with a six to Ravi Bishnoi.

  Vivo IPL 2021: No explanation on why I was sacked from the captaincy of SRH: David Warner

DC skipper Rishabh Pant tried to finish the game at the earliest however he was picked by Chris Jordan in the 17th over.

Shimron Hetmyre and Shikhar Dhawan did the last job for the Delhi Capitals (DC) as they won the game by seven wickets.

Hetmyer smacked 4 balls 16 runs with two sixes and a four while Dhawan remained unbeaten on 69 from 47 balls which included six fours and two sixes.

Invited to bat first, Punjab Kings had a forced change in the skipper after KL Rahul was diagnosed with acute appendicitis. Mayank Agarwal was given the role to lead the team.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) didn’t have a good start as Ishant Sharma bowled a maiden over while Prabhsimran Singh was dismissed by Kagiso Rabada in the 4th over.

Chris Gayle, coming to bat at number 3, was removed by Rabada in the final over of powerplay after creaming out a four and a six in his 9 balls 13.

PBKS were reduced to 39/2 in the powerplay.

DC bowlers succeeded to keep Mayank Agarwal and Dawid Malan quiet in the middle overs. Both the batters rotated the strike and played some release shots in every loose ball.

  IPL 2021: Punjab Kings Full Schedule & Time Table

Axar Patel in the 14th over castled Dawid Malan with his signature straight delivery. Malan returned after scoring run-a-ball 26. In the same over, Deepak Hooda was also sent back after a bit of confusion between Mayank and Hooda. Both the players were caught running to the same end and Hooda had to depart for a cheap run-out.

To finish things for Punjab, the skipper Mayank Agarwal took all the chances and scored unbeaten 99 from 58 balls with the help of 8 boundaries and four sixes.

Punjab Kings posted a respectable total of 167 after a poor start.

Kagiso Rabada scalped three wickets while Avesh Khan and Axar Patel got one apiece.

Very rarely the “Man of the Match” award goes to the player of the losing side. Punjab Kings (PBKS) skipper bagged the award for his brilliant under pressure knock.

ALSO READ: Vivo IPL 2021: Delhi Capitals (DC) Appointed Saba Karim As Talent Search Head
Vivo IPL 2021: KL Rahul Hospitalised Due To Pain In His Stomach, Will Miss A Couple Of Games