T20 World Cup 2024
Virat Kohli (TOI)

The ICC World Cup 2023 has reached the business end of the tournament. The league stage has been done and dusted and we saw an exceptional brand of cricket with both bat and ball. The competition was enthralling and in the end, it was India, Australia, South Africa and New Zealand that qualified for the semi-finals. 

Cricket Australia picks their ICC World Cup 2023 XI; Virat Kohli named captain

ICC World Cup 2023
Rachin Ravindra {PC: ICC WC 23}

As the league stage of the ICC World Cup 2023 is over, Cricket Australia named their team of the tournament. What caught the attention of many was they named the pioneer of Indian cricket Virat Kohli as the captain of the team. The Indian batter notably stepped down from the leadership last year. 

South African keeper-batter Quinton de Kock is picked by Cricket Australia as one of their openers. The Proteas batter is the second-leading run-getter in the ICC World Cup 2023 with 591 runs to his game. The other opener is Australia’s very own David Warner, who has scored 499 runs. 

Both of the opening batters have been at their exceptional best in the ICC World Cup 2023 and have played magnificently well. They are one of the main reasons behind their team reaching the semi-final. They would be hoping to continue the same form going ahead into the tournament. 

Read Also: World Cup 2023 Semifinal Schedule, Fixtures, Venues, Timing, Full Squads, Points Table, And All You Need To Know | ICC ODI World Cup 2023

At No.3, Cricket Australia has picked New Zealand’s sensation Rachin Ravindra. The left-hander has taken the tournament by storm and broke the record for most runs scored in debut World Cup season. He has 565 runs to his name, which speaks of his calibre as a batter. 

Virat Kohli will bat at No.4 and will captain the team as well. The batter has looked a class apart in the tournament and is the leading run-getter with 594 runs to his name in the 9 games in the ICC World Cup 2023.

Cricket Australia have picked four quality all-rounders in the team in Aiden Markram, Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra Jadeja and Marco Jansen. All these players have contributed equally well with bat and ball in the tournament. They will be crucial for their respective teams going into the semi-final. 

Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah are the two frontline pacers picked by Cricket Australia. The duo have been at their lethal best in the tournament and have picked wickets in chunks for India. Along with them, Adam Zampa is the spinner in the team. He’s the leading wicket-taker in the tournament. 

Cricket Australia picks their ICC World Cup 2023 XI; Virat Kohli named captain

Here’s Cricket Australia’s  ICC World Cup 2023 XI

Quinton de Kock (wk)
David Warner 
Rachin Ravindra 
Virat Kohli (c) 
Aiden Markram 
Glenn Maxwell 
Marco Jansen 
Ravindra Jadeja 
Mohammed Shami 
Jasprit Bumrah 
Adam Zampa 
Dilshan Madushanka (12th man)