Home Cricket Coverage Cricket Australia announced Test Squad against India

Cricket Australia announced Test Squad against India

Cricket Australia announced Test Squad against India. The Australian Cricket Board recently announced Test Squad for Border Gavaskar Trophy. Cricket Australia announced Test Squad against India.

Australia Squad against India (Tim Paine and Virat Kohli)
Australian captain Tim Paine and Indian Captain Virat Kohli Image - Getty Images

The Kangaroo Cricket Board on Wednesday announced the Test Squad against India for the Border Gavaskar Trophy. The Border Gavaskar Trophy will play its opener on 17th December onwards in Adelaide Oval, Adelaide. Australia and India will play a 4 matches Test Series in late 2020 and early 2021. 

Young Talents in the Test Squad :

Australia Cricket Board included some young talents to their Red Ball Squad, which includes Victorian Pucovski, Cameron Green, Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott and Michael Neser. Victorian Pucovski, Cameron Green and Sean Abbott are reportedly the potential debutants for Australia in the 1st test against India. 

Due to the tough times, Cricket Australia announced a larger than usual squad for the Test Series against India to ensure fast replacements, if needed. 

Victorian Pucovski was about to make his debut in the Australia squad for Pakistan Series last year but later before naming the squad, the 22 year Old asked to drop him due to issues related to mental health. Later, this year, Pucovski bounced back with the back to back double tons in Sheffield Shield.

Cameron Green is one of the leading run-getters in the Sheffield Shield Tournament. Green scored 363 runs at an average of 72.60 in just four games and it includes a big 197 runs knock. Earlier this month, Cameron Green was also named in Australia Squad for T20I against India.

National Selector Trevor Hons on young Talents:

Two of the many standout players (this season) were, of course, Cameron Green and Will Pucovski. Their undeniable form demanded selection and we are very pleased to have these young men in the squad for what will be a tremendous Test Series against an extremely formidable opponent,” Hohns said in a statement.

Cameron has already won selection in the white-ball squad and continues that in joining the Test squad. He is a wonderful young talent who has great potential to become an allrounder of substance over time. His batting alone has demanded his place in the squad.

The extended 19-man Australia A squad is also named to play against India A and India in the practice tests. Extended 19 man squad also includes the young talents including- Green, Abbott, Pucovski, Burns, Swepson and others.

Australia Squad for Tests:

David Warner, Will Pucovski, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, James Pattinson, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson, Sean Abbott.

ALSO READ: Cricket Australia Announces White Ball Squad For Series Against India

ALSO READ: New Team in IPL 2021, Mega Auctions Updates all you need to know