Team India
Team India

After a six-year hiatus, the Australian team has returned to India for a Test series. You will be shocked to know that the Australian team has not won a single Test series in India since 2004. The last time the four-match Test series was played between the two teams in India in 2017, Team India defeated Australia 2-1. The first match of the four-match Test series between the two teams will be played from 9–13 February at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Nagpur from 9–30 AM.

Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, Team India will try to put pressure on the Australian team by winning the first Test match. In such a situation, Rohit Sharma will take the field with the best playing 11. In this article, we will have a look at the possible playing 11 for Team India.

Opening Pair

Indian Openers - Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul
Image Source: Twitter

In the first match, the biggest challenge in front of Australia’s bowlers will be Indian opener KL Rahul and Indian team captain Rohit Sharma. Rohit Sharma’s record on Indian soil is good, and in such a situation, Rohit Sharma can play big innings. The opening pair of Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul could be a cause of concern for Australia in the first Test match.

Middle Order

Middile Order
Border-Gavaskar Trophy: India's Expected Playing XI against Australia in 1st Test at Nagpur 4

The Indian team’s middle-order batting line-up is looking very dangerous. Cheteshwar Pujara will come to bat at number three; he will tire the bowlers of the visiting team with his defensive technique. Who will benefit from the presence of number four batsman Virat Kohli? Kohli has found his form, and in this situation, Indian fans can expect another century from him. Shubham Gill is currently making century after century in ODI and T-20. In such a situation, it would be unfair to keep him out of the team, and Shubham Gill will get a chance at number five in the team. At number six, Ravindra Jadeja, who is returning to the team after a long time, will come to bat, his coming into the team will further increase the strength of the team. KS Bharat, the wicketkeeper batsman, will play at number 7.

Bowling Line-Up

Warwickshire sign pacer Mohammad Siraj for last three county games
Getty Images

Since Nagpur’s ground is favorable for spinners, Rohit Sharma can give a chance to one of Kuldeep Yadav or Axar Patel along with Ravindra Jadeja. But Ravindra Jadeja can also become a matter of concern for the captain. If we talk about fast bowling, then in the first match, Mohammad Shami and Mohammad Siraj will get a chance in the team, in which case the other two bowlers, Umesh Yadav, and Jaydev Unadkat, will have to sit out.

Expected Playing XI

Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

India vs Australia test series Schedule

  • First Test – February 9-13, 9.30 am, Nagpur
  • Second Test – February 17-21, 9.30 am, Delhi
  • Third Test – March 1-5, 9.30 am, Dharamsala
  • Fourth Test – March 9-13, 9.30 am, Ahmedabad

Don’t Miss – Jasprit Bumrah resumes bowling at NCA, likely to comeback in India vs Australia 3rd Test