KL Rahul to miss entire T20I series against West Indies: Reports
Image: BCCI

BCCI has named KL Rahul as team India’s Test vice-captain for the South Africa tour: Flamboyant KL Rahul has been elevated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) with yet another massive responsibility. The cricketer has been named team India’s Test vice-captain for the tour of South Africa, which comprises three test matches.

Rahul will replace his compatriot Rohit Sharma in the test team as the latter cricketer has been ruled out of the Test series due to a hamstring injury. 

“NEWS – KL Rahul named vice-captain of Test team for South Africa series. KL Rahul replaces Rohit Sharma as vice-captain, who was ruled out of the Test series owing to a hamstring injury,” wrote BCCI on a social media post.

It is important to note that Rahul was earlier named team India T20I vice-captain following the appointment of Rohit Sharma as the leader of the pack.

The last 1.5 year has been rewarding for the Karnataka batsman as he fought out the odds to gain his momentum back. Rahul, who was sidelined from India’s Test squad for about two years, got his place back in the team with a brilliant comeback in recent India’s tour of England 2021.

Rahul announced his comeback in the longest format with a crunchy 84 runs knock in the first test match between England and India. He then took the opportunity to stamp his authority as he tonked a century at Lord’s cricket ground to inscribe his name in the historic Lords Honours Board.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022 Mega Auction Details, 10 IPL Teams, New Rules: All you need to know

He opened alongside Rohit Sharma in the England tour. Both the batsman put up a solid show in the entire series and formed the basis of India’s sensational lead of 2-1 in four test matches.

In the absence of Rohit, Rahul is all set to open with Mayank Agarwal in the South Africa tour. 

Here is India’s three matches Test series schedule against South Africa:

1st Test Match – December 26 – 30 at SuperSport Park, Centurian.

2nd Test Match – January 3- 7 at The Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

3rd Test Match – January 11-15 at Newlands, Cape Town.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: Gautam Gambhir joins Lucknow based IPL team as a mentor in the IPL 2022